This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Best Pot Roast Recipes?

hspichke

hspichke Apprentice

I am brand new to celiacs and looking for a good pot roast recipe for the crock pot! I just saw the post on here about lipton onion mix not being gluten free which totally bums me out because that is what I typically use! And beer..but I know that is out now. I am looking for recipes! The grocery stores here carry some gluten free specialty items but not too many. Thanks!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

pricklypear1971 Community Regular

This is one of my favorites.

Open Original Shared Link

For the crock pot brown it well, and add drippings to the pot.

Marilyn R Community Regular

Hi hs. and welcome to the forum.

I don't know if this is the best slow cooker recipe, but I generally brown my roast (easiest to brown on the grill), but you can use a cast iron pan or non-stick pan. Meantime I chop an onion, peel and slice 4-5 carrots. You can add chopped celery too. I like to saute the veggies before sticking them in the crock pot, but I don't think it's necessary. I cut up (unpeeled potatoes, throw them in the pot, along with the veggies I sauteed. Add a tablespoon or two of tomato paste and about 1/2 cup of water. Add salt and pepper. If you're used to Liptons, and more salt than you expect is correct. The potatos and veggies should be on the bottom of the crockpot, stick the roast on top, and let that pot do it's thing.

Lisa Mentor