Jump to content


Advanced Members
  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won


Em314 last won the day on December 1 2013

Em314 had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

7 Neutral

About Em314

  • Rank
    Star Contributor

Profile Information

  • Gender
  • Location
  1. Contacted Breyer's through their web site because for years now one of my previous favorite ice creams (Breyer's Blast Reese's Peanut Butter Cups) has not been listed as gluten-free despite there not being anything that ought to be gluten that I could see in the label. I wanted to know if I was missing something of it this was just a CYA issue on their part. Here's the reply: They now have labels right on the carton, and almost none of the "blast" ise creams are labeled as gluten-free. I wonder if this is because of the candy included (Breyer's doesn't want to take responsibility for the safety of a third party's product), but if the candy is what they say it is, it's gluten-free candy. Here's the product page: http://www.breyers.com/product/category/113541/blasts So what sayeth everyone else on this issue? Am I just not seeing the gluten ingredient on the list? This is one of the few gluten-free foods I really, really miss. Enough that I do wonder if it's worth risking an attempt to eat at some point (and I haven't knowingly "cheated" since I got diagnosed over 2 years ago, for context, lol).
  2. Saw them in the store, wanted to try them but didn't dare. This is the oh-so-careful reply I got when I wrote in: Anyone try these yet? Reactions?
  3. I think those were the ones I just had recently. I was really excited by how well they mimicked "normal" preztels. (Sad I get excited over normal-tasting pretzels, huh?)
  4. Oh, I never updated on this- I had mild anemia (and protien deficiency), other mild deficiencies typical of celiac (I forget them all), and low Vit D. Taking a Vit D supplement has helped tremendously, and I'm making an effort to get more iron in my diet. Some issues with fatigue have recurred recently, but I sort of suspect at least some of that is that where I am it's cold and gets dark at 4:30pm now and that makes me want to hibernate. (The tiredness popping up has almost directly correlated with the clocks being set back in November.) My folate (iirc) was actually (non-dangerously) high because I'd been eating so much Chex, though, lol. I have a friend (non-celiac) who had the same thing come up in bloodwork for the same reason.
  5. I know egg beaters and Better n Eggs are gluten-free. Anyone have any info or opinions on store-brand/generic versions of these? Is it even worth writing in to the companies that would know this, or am I being paranoid? It's been awhile since I've been on here, so i suspect the answer is "yes, write in," and I've just become complacent, but I could use the reality check.
  6. SCAVENGER HUNT: Someone find the water product that has wheat, and report back.
  7. EKG came out fine. We'll have to see how the tests from the blood draw end up turning out.
  8. And as an update to the fatigue issues- they *are* actually getting better. It's at least partially contingent on stress, sleep, and diet, but *I'm* getting more able to recognize things like "Oh hey, I feel kind of down and moody all of a sudden because it's 11pm and I need to start heading home and get some sleep." (Knowing what "hungry" actually feels like may come at *some* point, lol, though it's still usually "I'm tired. Is this a sleep or a food thing?") Also, they're getting *better* and less frequent but are not totally gone, and I also sometimes do still get dizzy spells. That said, I don't want to blow off the rather alarming symptoms I was having as recently as May just because they are right now getting better (especially since I only get the one physical per year). If it really was just and overall health issue, that's fine and good, but I'd like to have the labwork done to more firmly be certain. I had one medical problem screw my life up for 26 years, and I'm still kind of amazed by how much different I feel physically *and* mentally now that I'm gluten-free. I don't want to miss another thing that I might be able to fix and feel even better.
  9. OK, so, I will ask for (or at least discuss): -full thyroid workup (not just TSH, which was all it was before- will mention AI/Hastmoto's concern) -Vit b12 levels -CBC -Vit D level (I'm assuming) -MRT blood test for other sensitivities (does this test tell you *what* you're sensitive to, or just *if* you are?) (additional, from Newbie FAQ): -CMP, SED RATE, IRON/FERRITIN levels, Folate levels Asking for an ECG seems a little... excessive? But will ask my doc if I should have any worries about my heart. Anything else I'm missing?
  10. So, first physical coming up since celiac dx. I could use some advice on what blood tests to ask for. There's some good suggestions on this thread already. Any other things to look for (vitamin deficiencies? other commonly linked AI disorders?) Thanks guys!
  11. Here's some updates: http://www.conagrafoods.com/frequently-asked-questions says: ACT II® Microwave popcorn- All varieties Orville Redenbacher’s® Ready-to-pop popcorn- in jars All sizes Orville Redenbacher’s Microwave popcorn- All varieties except Two-Step Cheddar and White Cheddar Orville Redenbacher’s Ready-to-eat popcorn- All varieties Poppycock® Ready-to-eat popcorn- Original, Apple Crisp, Pecan Delight, Chocolate Lovers and Cashew Crunch 'n Munch® Ready-to-eat popcorn- Caramel and Buttery Toffee Fiddle Faddle® Ready-to-eat popcorn- Caramel and Butter Toffee Jiffy Pop® Pre-seasoned ready-to-pop popcorn- All varieties http://www.jollytime.com/contact/FAQs says: All JOLLY TIME Pop Corn is gluten free from wheat, rye, oats and barley. However, all of our products do contain corn gluten (modified corn starch). Our microwave flavor providers have also assured us that our flavorings are gluten free as well. http://www.popsecret.com/faq/ says: Q: I am concerned about food allergies. How can I find out what is contained in Pop Secret? A: The ingredient listings on all our packages are complete and accurate. The package should be read carefully if there is any question of possible allergic reaction. For dairy/milk, our products have the universal “D” symbol on the package to indicate the product contains dairy ingredients. For gluten/soy, all popcorn is free of glutens from wheat, rye, oats and barley. However, all of our products do contain corn gluten (modified corn starch). Our microwave flavor providers have also assured us that our flavorings are gluten-free as well. For peanuts/tree nuts, Pop Secret popcorn is produced and packaged at a facility that is free from tree nuts and peanuts.
  12. I'm getting the same thing lately... but I also live in an area where the major pollen season is underway. As in, some days, things left outdoors undisturbed turn YELLOW overnight. I'm cautiously optimistic that that may be part of it, for me anyway, seeing as I already know for sure I have environmental allergies.
  13. So, it is actually taking it a bit far to worry about whether or not store-brand ground meat has somehow been cross-contaminated, I take it?
  • Create New...