Frankly there should be a ban on labelling things vegan if they are made on shared equipment as non vegan food items. I bought some carob chips that had vegan written all over them. (Brand is Sunspire FYI). I swear I had read the allergen info at the store and saw no problem. But I also was tired and not feeling good, so it could easily have been one of those times when I saw, 'Vegan' and tossed them in the shopping cart. I don't honestly remember.
If anything, if you aren't worried about catering to the vegan lifestyle, cater to those with milk allergies. Don't put Vegan on a package if it contains milk. People who can't have dairy love vegan options because usually they are safe for them. No animals or their byproducts defines vegan. Vegan is not synonomous with vegetarian.
End of rant.