Ivory

8 Year Old With Celiac Symptoms?

Rate this topic

Hi, I am new to this but was wondering if anyone could offer any information?? My daughter is 8 years old and for the past year and a half she has had problems. She started out having heart palpitations and angina like symptoms. Her heart has been tested and has come back as being normal. When they ran blood tests she was anemic and had low platetlets. They have diagnosed her with ITP (her dad has it too) since her levels have never totally rebounded but are up to 150 right now. (low side of normal) Her anemia has since resolved. Her blood work also showed that she had an IGE level (her response to an allergen) 10 times higher than normal. Allergy testing didn't determine anything. She has allegic rhinitis. She has stomachaches daily. She complains of feeling bloated, too full and gassy.Also, a burning pain. She has bouts of diahrea and has since she was a baby. The health nurse said she hadn't seen explosive diaharrhea like it. In the past months says her vision is blurry. It does not come and go it is always blurry. She has also been very irritable and moody. She has huge mood swings. The doctor says it is anxiety or that she had ADHD. They did a blood test for Celiac that was negative. However, the more I read the more it sounds like her. I'm not sure what to do. I tried gluten free but was not very diligent. The third day she had cheerios and came home sick from school with a really bad stomach ache and headache. Two days later her dad gave her something with wheat and she called me at work crying from a stomachache. A few days later she had something and didn't seem to react. I gave up and started her on gluten full force. Two days later we were up in emergency with what they think is an anxiety attack. Chest pain, couldn't breath and felt like she was dying. I have no idea if this is all related but any help would be appreciated. Another thing is that her appetite is often huge. She is a normal height a