Jump to content



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
  • Scott Adams
    Scott Adams

    Is Bud Light Seltzer Gluten-Free?

    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

    Wondering if Bud Light Seltzer is gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease? Look no further.

    Is Bud Light Seltzer Gluten-Free? - Image: CC BY-SA 2.0--gamillos
    Caption: Image: CC BY-SA 2.0--gamillos

    Celiac.com 03/17/2021 - According to Wikipedia, "Hard seltzer, spiked seltzer or hard sparkling alcohol water is a type of highball drink containing carbonated water, alcohol, and often fruit flavoring. In the US the alcohol is usually made by fermenting cane sugar; sometimes malted barley is used."

    We get a lot of questions from celiac community members wondering if certain products are gluten-free. One question we see a lot is about alcoholic hard seltzers. Specifically, is Bud Light Seltzer gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease?  



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    The short answer to the question is that Bud Light Seltzer is gluten-free. According to the Walmart website, all Bud Light Seltzer "gluten free alcohol drinks have a 5% ABV and are made with no artificial flavors." 

    The gluten bee.com website confirms that Bud Light Seltzers are gluten-free.

    Gluten-Free Bud Light Seltzer comes in the following styles and flavors:

    Bud Light Seltzer

    • Black Cherry Bud Light Seltzer
    • Strawberry Bud Light Seltzer
    • Lemon Lime Bud Light Seltzer
    • Mango Bud Light Seltzer

    Bud Light Seltzer Lemonade

    • Original Lemonade
    • Strawberry Lemonade
    • Black Cherry Lemonade
    • Peach Lemonade

    Bud Light Platinum Seltzer

    • Bud Light Platinum Original
    • Bud Light Platinum Blood Orange
    • Bud Light Platinum Citrus
    • Bud Light Platinum Wild Berry

    Bud Light Seltzer Iced Tea

    • Bud Light Seltzer Iced Tea Raspberry

    Bud Light Seltzer Out of Office

    • Classic Lime Margarita
    • Mango Mai Tai
    • Strawberry Daquiri
    • Watermelon Mojito

    WARNING: Bud Light Seltzer sold in Canada contains malt and is NOT gluten free. 


     

    Edited by Scott Adams



    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 10/14/2016 - It's almost October, and that means beer, or, at least it means Oktoberfest is near. And in so many ways, gluten-free beer lovers have never had it better, with dozens of selections now available commercially, and more on the way every month, it seems.
    So grab a beer, and celebrate Oktoberfest. But before we get to the list of beer purveyors, let's quickly review some basics of gluten-free versus gluten removed.
    Naturally Gluten-free Beers—Naturally gluten-free beers are made with all gluten-free source ingredients, and use grains like sorghum instead of barley. This is important to many people, especially those with high sensitivity, or the belief that gluten-removed beers may trigger celiac-related problems.
    Pros: Guaranteed gluten-free from start to finish. As close to 100% gluten-free final product as it gets. Cons: Beers made without barley can taste tart, or have a shallow flavor profile. Aren't considered beer under German standards. Gluten-removed beers—Use traditional source ingredients like barley to brew beer traditionally, then use various enzyme processes to break down the gluten.
    Pros: Traditional source ingredients. Traditional beer flavor. Test under 20 ppm gluten. Can be labeled as beer according to German purity laws. Cons: While many people with celiac disease seem to be able to tolerate gluten-removed beers, many claim that these beers trigger adverse symptoms. The jury is still out on whether gluten-reduced beers are safe for people with celiac disease. From a purely technical standpoint, beers brewed from all gluten-free source ingredients cannot be called beer in Germany, due to strict labeling laws in effect since the 14th century.
    The standard set by the FDA for gluten-free labeling in the United States requires that products be made with gluten-free ingredients, and must contain less than 20ppm of gluten.
    The standard set in Europe allows manufacturers to use gluten, rye, or barley in the manufacturing process, so long as the final product tests below 20 ppm gluten.
    Many European beers follow that method, and use wheat and or barley to brew their gluten-free beers. The beers are then treated with enzymes to break down and filter out any gluten. The result is a beer that looks and tastes like a traditional beer, but which is also gluten-free, according to the European labeling standard.
    A List of Naturally Gluten-free Beers
    Anheuser-Busch Redbridge Bard's Gold Bard's Tale Beer Brasserie Dupont Forêt Libre Brasseurs Sans Gluten Glutenberg Blanche Brunehaut Bio Ambrée Brunehaut Blonde Bio Brunehaut Blanche Burning Brothers Brewing Coors Peak Dogfish Head Craft Brewed Ales: Tweason'ale Drummond Gluten Free Epic Brewing Company: Glutenator Ghostfish Brewery Glutenberg American Pale Ale Glutenberg Blonde Glutenberg Belgian Double Glutenberg India Pale Ale Glutenberg Rousse Green's Discovery Amber Ale Green's Endeavour Green's Enterprise Dry-Hopped Lager Green's India Pale Ale Green's Quest Tripel Blonde Ale Ground Breaker Corsa Rose Gold Ale Ground Breaker IPA No. 5 Ground Breaker Dark Ale Ipswich Ale Brewery: Celia Saison Joseph James Brewing Fox Tail Lakefront New Grist Ginger Style Ale Lakefront New Grist Pilsner Style Minhas Lazy Mutt Gluten Free Mongozo Premium Pilsener New Planet Belgian Style Ale New Planet Blonde Ale New Planet Pale Ale New Planet Raspberry Ale New Planet Seclusion IPA New Planet Tread Lightly Session Ale Nickel Brook Gluten Free Nouvelle France La Messagère Nouvelle-France Messagère Aux Fruits Nouvelle-France Messagère Red Ale Schnitzer Bräu Hirse Lemon Schnitzer Bräu Hirse Premium Sprecher Brewing Company's Shakparo Ale Steadfast Beer gluten-free Blonde and Pale Ales Steadfast Beer Company's Oatmeal Cream Stout To Øl Reparationsbajer Gluten Free Whistler Forager A List of Gluten-Removed Beers
    Alley Kat Scona Gold Kölsch Brunehaut Bio Tripel Estrella Damm Daura Estrella Damm Daura Marzen Lammsbräu Glutenfrei Lager Beer Mikkeller American Dream Gluten Free Mikkeller Green Gold Gluten Free Mikkeller I Wish Gluten Free IPA Mikkeller Peter, Pale And Mary Gluten Free New Belgium Glutiny brand Golden and Pale Ales Short's Brewing Space Rock Stone Delicious IPA Sufferfest Brewing Company Pale Ale and Lager Widmer Omission Lager Widmer Omission IPA Widmer Omission Pale Ale Wold Top Against The Grain Wold Top Marmalade Porter Wold Top Scarborough Fair IPA Resources:
    Germans Brewing Beer with New Gluten-free Barley Storied Czech Brewery Quietly Brews Great Gluten-free Dark Beer Ghostfish Brewing Wins Gluten-free Gold at Great American Beer Festival Gluten-free Beer Guide at The Beer Diaries 17 Gluten-Free Beers That Actually Taste Good [updated for 2016!]


    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 03/26/2020 - Hard seltzers are the new drink on the scene, and many are gluten-free. Most of these products are brewed on premises by small breweries, and so not intended for mass consumption. So, brands like Stray Forth, and K4 may not be household names yet, but the market is thirsty enough to see a small explosion of hard seltzers in breweries around the country, especially in the midwest. You can experience the phenomenon in many small brew pubs across the nation, in places like Kinney Creek in Rochester, Minnesota.
    In addition to being gluten-free, hard ciders are lower alcohol than traditional beers, with fewer calories. They also come in novel flavors, like Root Beer, Citrus, Spicy Pineapple, Margarita, Strawberry Lemonade, and many more. The combination of novelty and fewer calories makes them a strong alternative choice among younger drinkers.
    Many, like Kinney Creek seltzers are also gluten-free. “I believe this is a new generation of drinkers that want something a bit lighter on the calories and carbs that you see in traditional beer styles,” says Kinney Creek owner and head brewer Donovan Seitz.
    Seitz adds that the growing popularity of hard seltzers, along with the need to produce products that were vegan and gluten-free, "made it an easy decision to brew a malt beverage that is gluten-free and vegan-friendly."
    Kinney Creek is located at 1016 7th St. NW, Rochester, MN, and produces 13 different hard seltzers, all of which are gluten-free and vegan.
    So far, the seltzers have been a major success at Kinney Creek. According to Seitz, “When we started selling them in October, we really had no idea what to expect. Today, it has added a noticeable increase in regular beer sales and the seltzers now have their own dedicated production space in the brewery, so we can keep up with demand. Rochester loves the hard seltzers.”
    What do you think? Have you tried gluten-free hard ciders yet? Curious? Share your comments below.
    For more information about hard seltzer brewers, check out Postbulletin.com
     


    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 11/25/2020 - Ginger beer is basically ginger ale that is fermented into an alcoholic beverage. True ginger beers are made with sugar, ginger and water, and nothing else! Most top brands of ginger beer are made the old fashioned way and are gluten-free.
    However, not all brands of ginger beer are gluten-free. These brands of ginger beer go the extra mile to make sure their products are labeled "Gluten-Free." That means that you can breath extra easy about serving them to people with celiac disease.
    Top Gluten-Free Ginger Beer Brands
    Barritt's Original Ginger Beer
    Barritt's is available in two versions: Barritt's Original Ginger Beer, and Barritt's Sugar Free Ginger Beer, sold in cans, bottles and small bottles. Both Barritt's Original Ginger Beer, and Barritt's Sugar Free Ginger Beer are gluten free.
    Bundaberg Ginger Beer
    Bundaberg Ginger Beer gluten free and does not contain any barley, malt extract, wheat products or hops.
    Cock'n Bull Ginger Beer
    Invented by Jack Morgan, owner of the famous Cock'n Bull restaurant in Hollywood, California, Cock'n Bull Ginger Beer was part of Morgan's original Moscow Mule! All natural ingredients, real sugar and ginger root extract give this English-style ginger beer its distinctive spicy flavor. Cock'n Bull Ginger Beer is gluten-free.
    Fever-Tree Premium Ginger Beer
    Unlike other ginger beers, Fever-Tree Premium Ginger Beer is not too sweet, which makes it a great mixer for Moscow Mules. Naturally sourced and made with three types of ginger from Nigeria, Cochin and the Ivory Coast, it’s a great middle-of-the-road choice that’s sure to satisfy any palate. Unlike other brands, this one’s particularly smooth too.
    Hollows & Fentimans Ginger Beer
    Inspired by Thomas Fentimans original recipe, Hollows & Fentimans alcoholic ginger beer is made using all natural ingredients and is certified gluten free.
    Old Jamaica Ginger Beer
    Old Jamaica Ginger Beer comes in Regular, Light, and Extra Fiery Zero Sugar. All Old Jamaica Ginger Beer is gluten-free.
    Reed’s Ginger Beer
    Reed’s Jamaican-style Ginger Beer contains a blend of fresh ginger, pineapple juice, lemon juice, lime juice, honey and spices. Reed's comes in Original, Extra and Sugar-Free Extra (with double ginger), and Strongest with quadruple ginger. All versions of Reed’s Jamaican-style ginger beer are gluten-free, and contain no GMO’s, Preservatives, or Caffeine.
    Regatta Ginger Beer
    Regatta Ginger Beer is unique for brewing their ginger beer using an authentic Bermuda tradition, which uses stone crocks to ferment both Caribbean and African ginger to with sugar, water and yeast. This creates a brew that has the normal bit of ginger beer without the peppery “ginger burn” found in many Caribbean-styled ginger beers.
    Stoli Ginger Beer
    Vodka maker Stolichnaya brews both regular and diet ginger beer. Made with ginger extract and other all-natural flavors, this mixer has zero calories and is gluten free.
    With literally dozens of varieties of ginger beer coming on the market, it's likely we've missed a few worthy additions to our list of gluten-free ginger beer. If we missed one of your favorites, let us know in the comments section.
    Two More Ginger Beer Cocktails
    Since at least the 1940s, ginger beer has been a staple in numerous cocktails. Besides the aforementioned Moscow Mule, two more favorite ginger beer cocktails include:
    Dark n’ Stormy
    As the second most popular ginger beer cocktail in the USA, the dark n’ stormy is gaining recognition. To make this cocktail, mix ginger beer with dark rum and serve over ice. Add a splash of lime juice if you’re feeling fancy.
    Añejo Highball
    If you're looking to move away from the classic summer margarita; this might just be the best choice. The añejo highball requires ginger beer to be mixed with bitters, orange curaçao, aged rum and lime juice, then served over ice in a highball glass.


    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 03/12/2021 - We get a lot of questions from celiac community members wondering if certain products are gluten-free. One question we see a lot is about alcoholic hard lemonade. Specifically, is Mike's Hard Lemonade gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease? Another question we get a lot is: Which brands of hard lemonade are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease? 
    The short answer to the first question is that Mike's is not certified gluten-free. Mike's hard lemonade is gluten-removed. That means Mike's is made with barley ingredients and crafted using enzymes to remove gluten. 
    Mike's Hard Lemonade may be safe for certain people, but it's not recommended for people with celiac disease, especially anyone who is highly sensitive to gluten. People with celiac disease should use caution with these products. As always, read labels, watch for allergens, and choose carefully.
    Since most hard lemonade brands are also made with barley, they are also not gluten-free. The best you can do here is gluten-removed, like Mike's. When it comes to hard lemonade, people who avoid gluten need to be wary. Read labels, and choose carefully.
    Sparkke Makes Gluten-Free Hard Lemonade
    There may be others, but Sparkke is the only brand of hard lemonade we have found that is gluten-free. Sprakke is made from lemons and fermented with Champagne yeast for a light, refreshing, alcoholic hard lemonade. 
    Sparkke is an Australian product, so if you can't find it, remember, now that the FDA has confirmed that all distilled alcohol is gluten-free, regardless of the original ingredients, it's possible to brew your very own refreshing gluten-free cocktails that will give Mike's and other hard lemonade brands a run for their money.
    For anyone looking for a great lemonade-style cocktail, look no further than this recipe for a tasty summertime Tom Collins. A lovely marriage of gin, lemon juice, simple syrup and club soda, a Tom Collins is a warm weather drink, and a perfect alternative to hard lemonade for those who need to avoid gluten.
    Other great options include the Margarita, the Gin and Tonic, and the Gimlet, basically a lime-based, non-carbonated, version of the Tom Collins. Here are some great recipes.

     


  • Popular Now

×
×
  • Create New...