Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Craftycat

1 1/2 Weeks Away From Testing

Hi,

Newbie here. A few doctors have mentioned Celiac disease to me and I'll be having an Endoscopy and Colonoscopy in about 1 1/2 weeks. Since researching this website, I discovered that I do have a lot of the symptoms. I'm especially happy to see that there are people who have gained weight with it. The doctor also suspects Crohn's disease, which is usually related to weight loss as well? I definitely don't have that problem. I not a big eater, but haven't been able to lose any weight for awhile now. I'm about 30-40 lbs overweight, but eat less than most people I know. I'm having a lot of pain in my lower right side, that radiates to my waist and aroung to my back. I don't have appendix or ovaries, so that's why the doctor feels it may be Crohn's disease. He said that is the area where the large intestine and small intestine connect and is typically where Crohn's disease starts.

I had some food allergy blood tests done back in 2001 and was found to be highly allergic to wheat bran. Also, some to soy, corn and very low to gluten. I went on a vegan diet (no meat or dairy) and was off wheat for about 7 months. (in 2001) Was also walking regularly and lost quite a bit of weight. My stomach and Fibromyalia symptoms were so much better and overall felt the best I had in a long time. However it was discouraging to be doing everything I thought was best for me and still feeling so tired all the time. I was still eating gluten though and now wondering if that was part of the problem? Also ate a lot of other grains.