Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

GFinMN

Genetic Testing - Double Dq8 - Anyone Else Have The Double?

just got my genetic test results back from the mayo clinic. double DQ8. the doc thinks that is causing me to be an extremely sensitive celiac, more than most. does anyone else have the double? does it really make a difference? i'm new to this genetic stuff and don't totally understand it.

thanks.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

oh wow, I have never heard of anyone being double DQ8. Most people seem to have a DQ2 & a DQ8 or DQ2 & a DQ1, or DQ8 & DQ3, etc, in other words either one of the gluten genes & one of the gluten intolerant genes, or one of each of the gluten genes, or two gluten intolerant genes.

Those of us that are double DQ1, know that it is a bummer with a lot of neurological stuff & additional food intolerances/allergies... Most double DQ1 people I know also cannot tolerate dairy. I cannot tolerate grains...

I recently read a post by someone that was double DQ2 & it seems that they had it very bad also.

I wonder if it is having the two copies of the same gene that is so bad?????

Would you mind giving us a list of your health issues?...

I am the only one in my family to have the gene test. I am not a DQ8 but am a double DQ9. In my case that double dose did seem to lead to more sensitivity than most. I would imagine a double of any gene would cause an increased sensitivity to what ever that gene predisposes us to.

Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying

"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002