Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

annapumpkin

California Support Group

Hi all,

I am looking to start a support group in my area because from what I am seeing we dont have one for 2 hours in each direction and I know there is a need. My problem is, is that I have no experience with this besides leading hospital volunteer groups. So I am wondering if there are any pointers you all can give me or show me the ropes so to speak. I figure if no one else will start one I will do it myself, im sick of waiting for someone else to do it. (5 years) Thanks.

-cheryl

Gluten free since Nov 2002

Diagnosed celiac Nov 2002

thru multiple biopsies and blood tests

Genetically confirmed March 2008

Gallbladder removed Nov 2006

Still showing symptoms even with diet

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Hi all,

I am looking to start a support group in my area because from what I am seeing we dont have one for 2 hours in each direction and I know there is a need. My problem is, is that I have no experience with this besides leading hospital volunteer groups. So I am wondering if there are any pointers you all can give me or show me the ropes so to speak. I figure if no one else will start one I will do it myself, im sick of waiting for someone else to do it. (5 years) Thanks.

-cheryl

You can contact the Celiac Disease Foundation at www.Celiac.org. Deborah will be glad to set you up with a starter packet. :)

Great idea!

Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

Join eNewsletter

Hi all,

I am looking to start a support group in my area .. .

What part of CA are you in??

I'd be up for a group but I'm in San Jose.

>>>>>>> tom <<<<<<<

Celiac 1st diagnosed as a toddler, in the 60s. Docs then, between bloodletting & leech-tending, said "he'll grow out of it" & I was back on gluten & mostly fine for 30yrs.