Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter
  • Join Our Community!

    Ask us a question in our celiac / gluten-free forum.

  • Scott Adams

    Are McDonald's Latte and Coffee Drinks Gluten-Free?

    Scott Adams
    1 1
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      Are McDonald's Coffee and Latte Drinks gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease?


    McDonald's  McCafé. Image: CC BY-SA 2.0--avlxyz
    Caption: McDonald's McCafé. Image: CC BY-SA 2.0--avlxyz

    Celiac.com 10/21/2020 - We get more than a few question about McDonald's Coffee and Latte Drinks. Specifically, are McDonald's Coffee and Latte Drinks gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease?

    Plain coffee is gluten-free. Coffee with milk is gluten-free. Sugar is gluten-free. As with so many foods and beverages that start out gluten-free, the answer lies in the additives. Unless you add wheat or gluten ingredients, most coffee and coffee drinks are gluten-free.



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    However, McDonald's Latte and Coffee Drinks include numerous extra ingredients, so are they gluten-fee and safe for people with celiac disease?

    McDonald's coffee drinks come in Hot, Iced, and Latte versions. The full menu for McDonald's Latte and Coffee Drinks includes:

    • Cappuccino; Caramel Cappuccino; French Vanilla Cappuccino; Mocha; Iced Mocha; Caramel Mocha; Iced Caramel Mocha; Latte; Iced Latte; Caramel Latte; Iced Caramel Latte; French Vanilla Latte; Iced French Vanilla Latte; Americano; Premium Roast Coffee; Iced Coffee; Iced Caramel Coffee; Iced French Vanilla Coffee; Caramel Frappé; Mocha Frappé; and Hot Chocolate.

    McDonald's does not label its coffee and latte drinks as "gluten-free." However, a glance at the website shows that the drinks contain no wheat or gluten ingredients. Obviously it's possible in a busy fast food restaurant that a drink you order could be cross-contaminated, so you may want to explain this to the person taking your order, and watch them make your drink to reduce this risk.

    Here's a breakdown of the various flavors and ingredients in McDonald's Latte and Coffee Drinks:

    Caramel Macchiato 
    Caramel Macchiato made with our rich, dark-roast espresso served with steamed whole or nonfat milk, mixed with sweet caramel syrup, and topped with ribbons of buttery caramel.

    Whole Milk
    Ingredients: Milk, Vitamin D3 Added.
    Contains: Milk

    Caramel Syrup
    Ingredients: Sugar, Sweetened Condensed Skim Milk (Milk, Sugar), Water, Corn Syrup, Natural Flavors, Brown Sugar, Propylene Glycol, Sea Salt, Disodium Phosphate, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative).
    Contains: Milk.

    Espresso
    Ingredients: Espresso, Water.

    Caramel Drizzle
    Ingredients: Corn Syrup, Sweetened Condensed Milk (Milk, Sugar), Sugar, Water, Butter (Cream, Salt, Natural Flavor), Salt, Pectin, Disodium Phosphate, Natural Flavor, Caramel Color, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative).
    Contains: Milk.

    Iced Caramel Macchiato
    Iced Caramel Macchiato made with our rich, dark-roast espresso served with iced whole or nonfat milk, mixed with sweet caramel syrup, and topped with buttery caramel drizzle.

    Whole Milk
    Ingredients: Milk, Vitamin D3 Added.
    Contains: Milk

    Ice
    Ingredients: Ice.

    Caramel Syrup
    Ingredients: Sugar, Sweetened Condensed Skim Milk (Milk, Sugar), Water, Corn Syrup, Natural Flavors, Brown Sugar, Propylene Glycol, Sea Salt, Disodium Phosphate, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative).
    Contains: Milk.

    Espresso
    Ingredients: Water and Espresso.

    Caramel Drizzle
    Ingredients: Corn Syrup, Sweetened Condensed Milk (Milk, Sugar), Sugar, Water, Butter (Cream, Salt, Natural Flavor), Salt, Pectin, Disodium Phosphate, Natural Flavor, Caramel Color, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative).
    Contains: Milk.

    According to the McDonald's website, their latte and coffee drinks are likely to be gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease. As always, product formulations can change, so read labels, check ingredients, and avoid anything you're not sure about.

    If you're not sure of any ingredient, please check celiac.com's Gluten-Free SAFE Ingredients List, and the UNSAFE Non-Gluten-Free Ingredient List.

    Here are links to the McDonald's website:

    Edited by Scott Adams

    1 1

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    Good to be aware, however, that the term “natural flavors” can indeed include gluten.  So, unless it specifically says gluten free, as a celiac I would avoid it.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    It's been two years since I drank McDonalds coffee.  The cashier did not was her hands before opening a pre-packaged coffee with filter and placed it into the brewer.

    The result: diarrhea

    Was it the coffee, the pot or human hands that resulted in gluten cross-contamination?

    McDonalds is a "high-risk" restaurant & definitely NOT safe for Celiacs!

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites


    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 02/27/2006 - Gluten Intolerance Group (GIG) applauds McDonald’s for providing proof that their French fries are safe for persons with celiac disease and gluten intolerances, states Cynthia Kupper, RD, Executive Director of GIG. Kupper, who has worked with large corporate chain restaurants for many years to provide gluten-free menu options, states McDonald’s took the best action possible by having the fries tested by one of the leading independent laboratories in food allergens. McDonald’s has provided the reassurance those persons with celiac disease need, to feel confident they can eat the fries without getting sick. Outback Steak House...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 09/05/2017 - Did you know that it's not uncommon for many McDonald's stores in Europe to offer gluten-free buns?
    If you're lucky enough to find yourself in Europe any time soon, here's a quick list of European countries where you can get Gluten-Free McDonald's Buns. Remember, not every McDonald's location offers gluten-free options, so always check first.
    Numerous McDonald's restaurants in these countries offer gluten-free bun options:
    Austria Denmark Finland Hungary Italy Norway Portugal Spain Sweden Switzerland The Netherlands The bigger question is when will they offer gluten-free buns in the USA?
    ...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 09/26/2020 - How do you figure out which Halloween candy is gluten-free and safe for you and your loved ones? You check out the Celiac.com’s Safe Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list, of course!
    Here's our best, most comprehensive, most up-to-date list of safe, gluten-free Halloween candy, along with a list of unsafe candy that contains gluten and should be avoided.
    This year, we’ve added candies to both the SAFE Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list, and to our UNSAFE Non-Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list. We’ve also added more manufacturer contact information for easier answers to gluten-free questions.
    Celiac.com strives to mak...

    Scott Adams
    McDonald's is not known for its gluten-free offerings. If you are are at a McDonald's, the number of safe food offerings are slim. So, what about the coffee drinks, like the McDonald's Frappe? Is the McDonald's Frappe gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease?
    McDonald's Frappes are sweet espresso drinks blended with ice and covered with whipped topping, available in Caramel or Mocha flavors. We've gotten numerous questions on our gluten-free and celiac disease forum about McDonald's Frappes.
    We get more than a few question about McDonald's Frappes. Specifically, are McDonald's Frappes gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac...