Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
  • Jefferson Adams

    Is Cool Whip Gluten-Free and Safe for People with Celiac Disease?

    Jefferson Adams
    0
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      Currently, Kraft Cool Whip products are gluten-free, including the flavored "Season's Delight" varieties. As such, Cool Whip is regarded as safe for people with celiac disease.


    Queen of Cool Whip. Image: CC--Chris Winters
    Caption: Queen of Cool Whip. Image: CC--Chris Winters

    Celiac.com 02/13/2019 - We see a lot of questions about the gluten-free status of certain foods, candies, or snacks. One of the most common questions we see is: Is Kraft Cool Whip gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease?

    The good news for Cool Whip fans is that, currently, Kraft Cool Whip products are gluten-free, including the flavored "Season's Delight" varieties. As such, Cool Whip is regarded as safe for people with celiac disease.



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    Kraft marks all sources of gluten clearly in its ingredient listings, several of which are given below, and no Cool Whip products contain any reported sources of gluten. Cool Whip is not dairy-free. The website states that “Cool Whip is not milk-free or dairy-free. All forms/flavors of COOL WHIP…contain sodium caseinate, a natural protein of milk, and therefore should not be consumed by those with dairy allergies.”

    For those looking for a version that is both gluten- and dairy-free, consider CocoWhip, a certified gluten-free, dairy-free, vegan, and kosher whipped topping made with organic ingredients. 

    Kraft's Allergen Information Statement reads:

    “Please note our products are produced and labeled in compliance with the FDA.   When labeling products, we consider - and label for - all possible sources of the 8 major allergens recognized by the FDA.  These are eggs, fish, crustacean, shellfish, milk, peanuts, soy, tree nuts and wheat.  Kraft Heinz also labels for additional allergens or substances of interest including celery,  mustard, lupin, mollusks, sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, poppy seeds, cottonseed, all sources of gluten, and sulfites in levels over 10 ppm.  If any of these substances are added to the product, they will be listed in the Ingredient Statement.    

    Our Consumer Representatives at 1-877-677-3268 will happy to help you with any questions you have concerning allergens and our products.”

    If you have any questions, consult the company website, or call the customer service number listed above.

    0

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    OMG... that this article even needed to be written boggles my mind!  MAKE YOUR OWN FROM SCRATCH... IT'S NOT DIFFICULT!  Or if you're feeling lazy, then just buy a canister of ready-made, 'real' whipped-cream.  ("Cool Whip" isn't dairy-free to begin with, so why put yourself through all the nonsense when finding something higher in quality and lower on the questionability scale is not at all hard?) 

    Sometimes the things that people do when shopping for groceries makes me question whether I'm living in some sick, dark comedy. 

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Don’t lose your faith in humanity. The article wasn’t written solely for the dairy folks. As a celiac, you must be very careful about what you eat and there are recipes where cool whip works better then real whipped cream. When a celiac accidentally eats gluten, it’s a very bad day!

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites


    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Jefferson Adams is Celiac.com's senior writer and Digital Content Director. He earned his B.A. and M.F.A. at Arizona State University, and has authored more than 2,500 articles on celiac disease. His coursework includes studies in science, scientific methodology, biology, anatomy, medicine, logic, and advanced research. He previously served as SF Health News Examiner for Examiner.com, and devised health and medical content for Sharecare.com. Jefferson has spoken about celiac disease to the media, including an appearance on the KQED radio show Forum, and is the editor of the book "Cereal Killers" by Scott Adams and Ron Hoggan, Ed.D.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 01/08/2019 - Doritos are one of the perennially popular snacks. They are also a major favorite for Super Bowl parties. But are Doritos gluten-free? We’ve heard that question more than a few times. The answer varies by flavor. Some Doritos varieties are gluten-free, some are not, and other flavors are free of wheat, rye, barley and oats. Use this handy list to help you choose your gluten-free snacks when Super Bowl LIII kicks off on Sunday, Feb. 3rd.
    These flavors of Doritos are labeled as Gluten-Free:
    DORITOS Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips DORITOS Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips The following f...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 01/11/2019 - When Super Bowl LIII kicks off on Sunday, Feb. 3rd, you’ll want to have your snack selection well-nailed down, including your gluten-free choices. With a bit of planning, you can avoid the unplanned halftime rush to get snacks that could have been gotten long before Maroon 5 takes the stage. Who wants to miss Maroon 5 just to stand in line at the store? Here’s a list of gluten-free snacks that are ideal for your Super Bowl party, and other great gluten-safe snacks that are wheat, rye and barley-free.
    We’ve broken the list in two, and listed fully gluten-free snacks first, with a list of gluten-safe snacks that that are wh...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 01/22/2019 - We see a lot of questions about the gluten-free status of certain foods, candies, or snacks. One of the most common product questions we see is: Are Snickers candy bars gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease? The short answer is yes! Currently, all flavors of Snickers, Snickers Dark bars, Snickers fun size and Snickers mini's are gluten-free, according to website for parent company Mars. The longer answer is that it's always wise to check, as product formulation can change, sometimes suddenly.
    Look to Manufacturers for Gluten and Allergen Information
    Manufacturers are required to list any allergens on ...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 02/04/2019 - With the rise in popularity of the gluten-free diet, and with more people being diagnosed with Celiac disease, more restaurants are offering gluten-free alternatives. While this is a great advancement, it’s important to note that not all gluten-free restaurant choices are created equal. Even if food is labelled “gluten-free,” the risk of cross-contamination could still be high, especially given the speed with which food is prepared.
    We see a lot of questions about gluten-free and gluten-safe fast food. One especially prominent question was “Is Burger King gluten-free?” The answer to that is that there is almost nothing g...