Jump to content
  • Sign Up
TinaJ

Chef Express Cocktail Sauce

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I'm very new to the gluten-free diet, and so maybe I'm being too cautious. On Peapod, the Chef Express RTE Shrimp Tray with Cocktail Sauce says it's gluten-free. But I've heard that most cocktail sauces contain gluten. Should I trust this one? Could the gluten-free statement just mean the shrimp?  I didn't find anything one way or the other when I Googled variations of the product name and "gluten free". 

Here's the ingredient list:
 

Ingredients:
Shrimp, Cocktail Sauce (tomatoes, corn syrup, vinegar, horseradish, salt, dehydrated onions, natural flavors, garlic powder, and citric acid), Lemons, Lettuce (garnish). Contains: Shellfish

Keep refrigerated; serve chilled.

Manufacturer:   Peapod, LLC

I apologize if I'm asking a silly question. I've already run into a couple of cases where things were said to be gluten-free, but then the sauce or accompaniment wasn't. So I don't yet know how much I can trust this sort of labeling.

 

-Tina

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...