Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


0
LookingforAnswers15

Trader Joe's / Vitamins

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Hi all,

When I was in the U.S., I loved shopping at Trader Joe's. My best friend was in the US and knowing that I loved this store as well as being afraid (cross-contamination) to buy any spices here, she bought me things that she thought I could use. So, do you know if Trader Joe's Spices of the World Turmeric and Ground Cinnamon are ok for us to use? Also, what about Trader Joe's toothpaste and dried cranberries? I am truly hoping I can use all of it. I miss cinnamon like crazy but there is no guaranty that the one here is not cross contaminated, so I am staying away. She also brought me Manuka Honey and I am so happy. For those who have not heard/tried it, I highly recommend it. Based on what I have read, it is super healthy and good for eczema, cough, immune health, wound healing, anti-bacterial, etc.

Is Organic tricolor quinoa (certified gluten-free) good for us? Is it possible to react to it? I have never tried it so I was wondering if it is ok if you are a very sensitive celiac?

I also ordered some New Chapter Vitamins from England and it says on the box that they are gluten-free. However, in a smaller print it says: Contains: fermented soy and fermented wheat (as food source for saccharomyces). Is this safe for me to use? I believe I react to soy so I avoid it. I do not want to sound stupid but I do not know how "fermented soy" and "fermented wheat" differs from regular ones and if I can still react to it.

Thanks a lot!

Edited by LookingforAnswers15

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


I have spoken with New Chapter on this topic a lot, and unfortunately I love them but can not recommend them from anyone with Celiac Disease- You are best to avoid anything grown or fermented on wheat (although the fermentation process minimizes the amount of gluten drastically).

Quinoa is generally recommended as safe, although some celiacs have reacted in various ways. 

Take note if you try it and notice any symptoms.

 

Kendra

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

0


Join eNewsletter