Celiac.com Sponsor:

Celiac.com Sponsor:

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

owlettkh

Gluten Free Diet Before Endoscopy

Im a newbie. I had my gallbladder removed in Jan 07. In the months that followed I started to have a return of abdominal pain along with bloating, loose BMs, gas, weight loss, felt hungry despite eating, numbness and pins and needles tingling in my feet/legs and hands/arms, easy bruising etc. I followed up with my PCP after months of this getting increasingly worse. He intially thought that this may be due to scar tissue constricting my bile duct, but when I went to see him at the end of May 07 he told me he thought it might be Celiac Disease and to test his theory he put me on a gluten free diet. I was on the diet for a month and the symptoms started to improve (except for the numbness/tingling). On July 24th 07, I finally went to see a GI. He scheduled me for blood panels that day and then for and EGD two days later. When I expressed my concern about my gluten free diet for the past nearly 2 months he said to load up on gluten for the 2 days before and I should be fine. Today I had the EGD, but I am still unsure about whether I had enough gluten (i ate 6 slices of bread both days) to get accurately results. The endoscope pics look normal and I am still waiting on biopsy and blood test results. Is it even possible to get accurate results? What should my next step be? my GI told me to go back to the gluten free diet, but I am wondering if i should continue to eat gluten and schedule another EGD? I know that I feel better on the gluten free diet (though it seemed that I was starting to develop a lactose intolerance) but I would like to get an answer to what exactly is wrong even if it means continuing to eat gluten.

Thanks for any help and advice you can offer!

Guest j_mommy

Personally I would not trust the results of either the biopsy or blood tests. Especially if you've been gluten-free for 2 months.