Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

hathor

Fish Sauce

Recommended Posts

I wasn't quite sure whether to post in the ingredients forum or here. But here goes ...

I went to a restaurant I've always loved that is right next to a movie theatre we frequent. I hadn't been there since I've been gluten-free. On the way there (planning on a movie right after) I realized I hadn't thought about whether I could eat there or not. Not enough time to find anywhere else, I thought. Yes, I know ... excuses, excuses.

Anyway, this Asian (mostly Thai) place has folks that have never heard of gluten. I switch to saying wheat and explain that soy sauce usually has it (seemingly news to the waitress). She goes back and forth to the kitchen several times and then tells me the only thing I might have is the fried rice, subbing fish sauce for soy sauce. I ask if the fish sauce is of the type that has wheat. She confidently said no.

You can see where this post is heading, can't you? How I feel :wacko:

Maybe it is psychosomatic. Does anyone have a feel for the likelihood that a restaurant has a fish sauce with wheat in it? All I've been able to find is that some sauces do and some don't.

I suppose if they put soy sauce in everything and I had something stir fried there could be cross contamination involved.

Dang, I was feeling so good recently.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know when I went to a Mexican restaurant and they used oyster sauce, it had wheat in it. I'm not sure about the fish sauce though. Also, I thought I remember hearing once that we couldn't have fried rice because something they used in it.

Kassandra

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...