krisb0701

gluten-free Shopping List/ingredients To Watch Out For

Rate this topic

Hi all, I am fairly new to this....officially diagnosed Monday. I been struggling on what to eat. I found out gluten is hidden in tricky wording like frosted flakes said Malt Flavoring, which I bought but then found out its from barley....so I guess that will go to my brothers. But I am also going back to school after time off because I been constantly ill. I need help with the shopping list, and maybe even some brand names of snacks, like chips, cereals, etc that I can buy that would be easy to bring to school with me. Also personal care products, what are some brands to try. I use sensodine toothpaste. I am prone to loads of cavities so have a fluoride past for bed time and use act fluoride rinse during the day. Are those ok? For shampoo I use different name brands from Herbal Essences, Garnier fructis, Aussie, Pantine usually get what is on sale for the week. I use Sexy Hair concepts spray and play for hair spray. Deodorant I use Mitchum roll on. Face wash/lotion/astringent I use the Clinque 3 step. I also use Clinque happy for perfume.

And what do I look for on the ingredient list besides wheat, barley, rye, and endo said oats too even though oats are not a type of gluten but unless say gluten free in a gluten-free plant high risk of cross contamination. Also question is all "malt" gluten. I got some bubble gum candy canes and it lists malt syrup.

Welcome, this forum is a wealth of information.

There are a lot of things you have to watch out for. But first, I want to post these links so you can check out these gluten free grocery guides, they will save you a lot of time and guessing.

They list mainstream products (Kraft, Heinz, Kroger, Progresso, Hormel, etc.) by category (soups, chips, dressings, spaghetti sauce, etc.)

Gluten-Free Grocery Shopping Guides:

http://www.ceceliasmarketplace.com/

http://www.triumphdining.com/?gclid=COPJ4f...CFdVL5QodHR95Bw

There