glutenfreejenny

College

Rate this topic

Since I graduated from high school about 7 years ago I've been working on getting through college. I have several pretty serious food allergies and didn't know about my celiac disease until about a year ago, so it's been rough getting through school while working. I don't have health insurance so I've pretty much been on my own when it comes to learning how to deal with the food allergies and everything else. I have officially been diagnosed with celiac disease but I'm 100% certain I have it.

Although I've been gluten and allergy free for about a year, I still have times when I get sick. I work with children and have a roommate and even though I'm very cautious it just happens sometimes. My question is for anyone who has been through college or has any advice for how to communicate with my teachers about everything.

We have a VERY strict homework and project policy. Unless you have a doctors note for the teacher saying you were there or the hospital you can't hand in anything late or retake exams. I was wondering if anyone knows how most colleges deal with this. I was diagnosed with my food allergies several years ago, so I can probably have the doctor give that information. The problem is when I get sick I don't usually go to the emergency room or doctor since I don't have health insurance. (don't worry if it's serious I go to the ER). With my food allergies I find that taking Benedryl and resting for at least a few hours is what seems to help. With gluten it's 3 days in bed resting, no way around it This becomes a huge problem when dealing with homework and getting to class.