Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

kaique

Need Help With Test Results

Hi,

I just got a blood screen test:

Gliadin IgA antibodies 3.6, reference range <12

Gliadin IgG antibodies 17.1, reference range <12

Transglutaminase IgA AB 1.8, reference range <10

So the IgG was the only one above normal range. My doctor doesn't seem to think I require a biopsy, but says I'm probably "gluten intolerant". However I've had symptoms for the past year or so and I have a daughter who is a confirmed by biopsy severe celiac. I thought it would be good to get a formal diagnosis, since I have a first degree blood relative, and I wondered what everyone thought? I don't know how abnormal my IgG really is - do you think I need a biopsy? Thanks so much for your help in advance.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Did your doctor test your total IGA? If that is low that would cause a false negative on the IGA testing. With a firmly diagnosed first degree relative I would forgo the biopsy and just get on the diet. The biopsy does have a chance of a false negative also so it may not give you a correct answer. If you are going to want to biopsy then keep eating gluten until the day that is done. After you are done with testing get yourself on the diet strictly.

Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying

"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002

Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis

All bold resoved or went into remission in time with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002