foxysoxy804

Help Me Please With Interpretation Of Celiac Panel!

Rate this topic

I had my anti-gliadin IgG levels tested for Celiac.

The lab designated results as follows:

<11 = Negative

11-17 = Equivocal (or according to my doctor, "borderline")

>17 = Positive

My result: 15.

So I fall in the equivocal range. Doc told me to go ahead and try the gluten-free lifestyle and see how that goes. What I am confused about is this so-called "borderline" range...do I have celiac disease or don't I??

I also have issues with my thyroid as well (TSH level of .46, with "normal" being anywhere from .50 to 5.0, a ridiculously large range if you ask me). Will find out more in the next couple days, as a complete thyroid panel is being done.

Anyways back to what I came here for...can I safely say I have celiac disease? Thanks for any help!!

Hi, Foxy --

I'm by no means a celiac pro (new to this myself), so I'll let others answer your question. Is that the only test they ran?

I wanted to comment on your thyroid, though, because I do have a lot of experience with that, unfortunately! 0.5 to 5.0 is a large range, you're right. A lot of the newer research shows that men aren't quite as sensitive with their TSH levels, so maybe the upper ends of that range is OK for some of them. Most women, though, feel better with a TSH around 1. I know when I get up in the 2 area, I feel it. Chances are that with a 0.46, you may be monitored for awhile to see if it changes. I was re-checked after 6 months, they found my TSH was undetectable, and I had the radioiodine treatment after that.

What I *really* wanted to share with you is that even if you feel OK, please be sure to take your thyroid issues seriously. I thought I felt fine when my thyroid was working overtime. It wasn't until after the RAI treatment, when my thyroid was slowly dying off, that I realized I felt so bad.

Anyhow, good luck with it all!

-- Kelley

Welcome to the board, foxysoxy.