Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
hobbitqueen18

Allergens/contains Label

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

There may be an obvious answer to this question but if there is no "wheat" or gluten" listed in the ingredients and in the area where it says "May Contain" or "Contains" and again no wheat or gluten is listed does that make it gluten free?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The main concern with "may contain wheat" labels is barley-derived ingredients like barley malt hidden in natural flavors. Rye is an unusual ingredient so that's not a real concern. Barley malt and malt vinegar are expensive, specialty ingredients so they tend to be listed separately but of course we need to be sure. A lot of the major corporations like ConAgra, General Mills, Heinz, Kraft, and Unilever have stated that they will never hide gluten and declare barley, oats, and rye as well as wheat on the label. This list might be helpful.

http://glutenfreeinsd.com/manufacturers_statements.html

If it's a small or local company and you don't know their policy, it's best to double-check if the label doesn't list all the ingredients in detail.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×