Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Zachm

Who else is a college student with Celiac Disease?

Rate this topic

I am currently a Community College student in NC, though I graduate this spring, and since diagnosis in July of last year, I have had to do all online. Now school has been super dooper cheap at the community college level, but I have to go to a 4 year institute next fall and I have been looking at online and broken it down to two: University of Florida and UNC-Greensboro. My pros and cons: UF has the exact major I have been studying for-BA in Psychology, but the tuition is $556.62 a credit hour since I am not a resident. UNC-G is roughly $160 a credit hour, but the "closest" thing to my major is Liberal Studies with a concentration in Social Sciences. I am not made of money, nor are my parents (parents actually went through all of their savings when my dad cut his hand nearly off working which resulted in his right hand not really functioning and mix that with me not being able to work because I am literally sick constantly) I am not using that as a wine or pity me, but what do yall do? I know there has to be another online celiac student. How did you make it? Which route would you go? I still have to do grad school after for Masters in Mental Health Counseling.

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

I had to withdraw 3 credit hours short of my degrees (I was in a duel degree program) because of celiac. Not because I had it but because I was undiagnosed at the time.  I also thought of going the online route but decided not to because I learn better with interaction and gave myself time to heal before returning to finish up.