This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Toddler With Celiac?

ELB3345

ELB3345 Newbie

Hello all! I am new to this - my first post :rolleyes:

I have a 3 1/2 year old son who was diagnosed with Celiac shortly after his second birhday - his symptoms were LOTS of vomiting and failure to thrive. He will be 4 in August and still only weighs 28 lbs. He is gaining slowly but surely and has been amazing adjusting to his diet.

I also have a son who just turned 1 who was born with a cleft lip and cleft palate. He is much bigger than my older son was at this age but he is still small for his age - 19 lbs 12 months old. (they were both 6 lbs when they were born and my husband and I are little people) I am concerned that he might have celiac because he eats like he hasn't eaten in days - all the time! My older sons gastro says that they only way to test for celiac in a kid under 2 is to do an endoscopy because the blood tests are not conclusive until age 2. I hate to wait until he is 2 and keep damaging his intenstines with gluten but I also hate to put him thrugh an endoscopy for no reason. He does have a large belly but not nearly as much as my older son did. He vomits some but I think it may have to do with his palate repair in January and he gag reflex. I can't connect the vomiting to gluten? Any advise?? Help!

Thanks!

Erica

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Nantzie Collaborator

Honestly, I'd try him on the gluten-free diet and see how he responds. Since there are no medications or treatments that the doctor can offer, the only thing a diagnosis gives you is a word on his chart.