Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

G.RAY

Maltodextrin

Recommended Posts


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


i SEE THAT SOMETIMES MALTODEXTRIN IS MADE WITH CORN BUT ISENT IT USUALLY MADE WITH

BARLEY?

In the US maltodextrin is most always derived from corn.


Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the US, maltodextrin, if labelled by the single word "maltodextrin," must be made from corn or rice. If it is from any other source, the source must be stated, for example "maltodextrin (wheat)." I have never seen anything with maltodextrin that was derived from barley. If anybody knows of a verifiable instance of barley maltodextrin, please post here and let us know about it.

In Canada, it is corn unless otherwise specifically labelled.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest j_mommy

As previous posters said if it is in the US it is made from corn!!! HOWEVER....if you are ever in any doubt of a product....CALL OR EMAIL THE COMPANY!!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites