Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


psawyer

Moderator
  • Content Count

    6,396
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    53

psawyer last won the day on December 4 2020

psawyer had the most liked content!

About psawyer

  • Rank
    Moderator

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Near Toronto, Canada

Recent Profile Visitors

71,164 profile views

About Me

My interests include railroads, models of railroads, photography, pets and other animals, large scale computers. I work in IT with mainframes. We volunteer with several animal rescue transport groups.

I  am quite familiar with the food labelling requirements in both Canada and the United States.

Celiac.com board moderator since June 2007 

  1. I have celiac disease and type 1 diabetes. Both are autoimmune diseases, and they tend to occur together. There is statistical evidence of concurrency, but no understanding about a common cause. That said, if you have type 2 diabetes, you will have dietary concerns. If you are faced with a decision...
  2. Lea & Perrins "original recipe" uses malt vinegar, not distilled white vinegar, everywhere in the world EXCEPT the United States. It is not safe here in Canada. French's is safe here, but it can be hard to find. Look for it at Loblaws.
  3. Hello. Most kitchen items can continue to be used as long as they are thoroughly washed. An automatic dishwasher does this well. Some things can trap gluten and thus can not be adequately cleaned. Wire mesh sieves can trap gluten. A toaster is impossible to clean of all crumbs. Plastic...
  4. Very, very few Campbells soups are gluten-free, and it isn't the modified starch. Many contain noodles. Others contain barley. Tomato has wheat flour.
  5. It might be made my the company that makes Pam. Pam makes several versions of their canola oil spray. Only one contains gluten. We have used the Original Pam since my diagnosis twenty years ago, without any problems.
  6. Immodium does not contain gluten, and many of us keep it handy.
  7. Jalapeno is a strong spice and may indeed cause stomach upset. It is gluten-free.
  8. I looked it up: Ingredients: Cured With Water, Salt, Sugar, Sodium Phosphates, Sodium Ascorbate, Sodium Nitrite. Plenty of sodium, but no gluten there.
  9. "Best before" means what is says. After that date, the product may fade in flavour or other sensory matters. It certainly does not mean unsafe to eat. But use common sense. Dry goods like buckwheat or rice have a very long shelf life. Pay more attention to meat and dairy products, some of which may...
  10. I have been gluten-free for twenty years. While is it theoretically possible for a prescription drug to contain gluten, I have yet to see a verified case. Gluten is a coagulant, so you will NEVER see it in an injected solution. Pills need a binder, but (at least in North America) corn is much cheaper...
  11. Oats are a problem for some people with celiac disease. Commercial oats are often contaminated with wheat, so be careful. I am able to eat pure oats without a problem. Pure oats from safe sources will be identified as such, but various regulations may forbid them from claiming to be "gluten-free...
  12. That point has been debated here since 2006. The fries themselves do not contain wheat. A wheat derivative is used in the flavoring that is then added to the oil in which they are partially fried at the factory. There was no detectable gluten in the finished product. But it is moot now.