Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Arpita

Gluten Free Alcohol

Recommended Posts

Any suggestions for Gluten free alcohol that is fully gluten free (other than wine). I have a list of brands from an online site, but I don't see most of the brands from that list in my local store. Last year, I got some brandy of a different brand than on the list, and just in case, e-mailed them about possible gluten. I wasn't worried and drank some that night. Felt bad the next day and then the e-mail returned with "yes, trace amounts of gluten." Definitely no dairy either. I'm interested in Rum, Brandy, Vodka & Kaluha substitute (Kalua has dairy I was informed) -- Made in USA preferable.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks - I don't know why I didn't notice the list on this cite as well. Anybody with info on particular brand names that they have already called? I'm a bit concerned b/c my last assumption that Brandy would be gluten free - turned out wrong. Just don't want to start contacting them all, if someone has already done it! Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thanks, that's a great list! Ever seen any list that include dairy/casein? Most alcohols don't have it, but liquors can. I'm wondering about rum, butter? I don't know why -- maybe just the hot butter rum thing?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've seen a casein-free beverage list. But it was designed for those who put their kids on Gluten-free Casein-free diets, so no alcohol B)

http://www.gfcfdiet.com/Beverages.htm

I know Bailey's is out; at least some of Godiva's liqueur's would be too. I think you need to read the ingredients for any combo type product like this. I don't see why straight rum would be a problem.

If you are really sensitive to casein, you may need to be careful which wines you use. Some are "fined" (sediment removal) using casein. I've seen folks here say they have reacted to particular wines before and I even ran across a study saying it is possible.

Unfortunately, wines do not have to list their fining agent yet. There is a proposal now to require allergen listing on wine in the US (in addition to milk, there may be egg, fish [yes, you read that right -- it's another fining agent], and even gluten [barrels glued together with a wheat-based glue]). The vintners are fighting this.

If you want to be careful in this respect, you need to stick with vegan wines. You can google and find lists of them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...