This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

What Happens If You Goof?

sammie210

sammie210 Newbie

I'm very new to this (within the last 4 weeks) so I'm trying my very best to eat gluten free. I seem to be feeling better (less reflux, less pain) but I'm wondering what happens now if I make a mistake and eat gluten. Does it hurt? Do I get sick? I never did have diarrhea, just a lot of pain and a lot of reflux, very severe anemia, cough, lots of odds and ends symptoms. So ... will I have the same reaction? If so, for how long and is there a way to stop it?

I'm mostly asking because 3 days ago, I ate some rotisserie chicken and within an hour, the stomach pain and burning was back. I just thought I was having a bout with the reflux. The next morning, the pain was there but less .. until I ate another piece of chicken. Since then, I called the store and they said there's MSG and wheat flour in the seasoning they use. So .... did I react that much and that quickly to that small amount? Is there a way to stop the pain if it does start or do I just have to wait it out?

Thanks so much for any help you can give!

Sammie

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Lisa Mentor

Many people here go back to the BRAT Diet...Banana, rice, apple sauce and tea. Once the autoimmune reaction kicks in, alot of the time you just need to ride it out.

You can take Imodium for the diarrhea and something to settle your stomach.

Here is a listing of some gluten free meds:

Open Original Shared Link

curlyfries Contributor