Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guest talsop

Gf Flours

Recommended Posts

Guest talsop

Does anyone know if oat & barley flour is gluten-free? I was on a web site for gluten free foods and some of their gluten-free stuff had oat & barely flour in them. So confused. Can someone clear this up?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Guest nini

NO they are not gluten-free. Outside the US I've heard that some believe that oats and barley are ok, but IMHO there is too much info stating just the opposite, that oats by themselves may be gluten-free, but there is too much risk from cross contamination in the fields and grain silos, and barley does have gluten.

anyone else feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No they are not gluten free at all. Barley has gluten in it and oats are highly contaminated. You need to stay away from both.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
:o

Those people have been misinformed!

Thats for sure...they need to be notified about that....this stuff confuses new celiacs and can cause major problems.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is for gluten and wheat free diets...some stuff is gluten free and others are only wheat free but may have rye, barley, or oats.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites