AussieSoph

New To Gluten Free

Rate this topic

Hi,

this is my first post, i'm a 22 year of Aussie girl and started having stomach problems about a year ago. i'm new to the gluten free thing, but have tried it before a few months ago and it seems to be the only thing that makes me feel better. i have gone back to a total gluten free diet for the last 2 weeks. i was feeling better last week and was really excited, but this week i seem to have gotten even worse! i have bad stomach pains, nausea, tiredness and bloating, and i can't tell what its from as i don't think i've eaten anything with gluten in it. i haven't formally been diagnosed with celiacs disease as my test came back negative, so my doctor said i may just have a wheat intolerance and a gluten free diet was probably still a good idea if it makes me feel better.

i was wondering how long most people take to feel better after going gluten free and what you thought might be making me feel so sick all of a sudden? is it a good idea to go off dairy for a while too? sometimes i feel like this may be giving me a reaction as i have been eating more of it since going gluten free to substitute for all the other things i can't eat.

also, do you find your syptoms worse under stress? i recently moved to New York from Australia and started a new job here, so i wondered if this could possibly be making my reactions even worse.

any advice or hints would be so appreciated. i hate feeling so sick and looking like i'm 4 months pregnant all the time!

Thanks! :)