Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
trinaren

New To This

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I am new to eating gluten-free. I got tested for food allergies a couple months ago, and my gluten reaction was off the chart. I don't know if I have Celiac Disease, or just an intolerance, but either way I'm cutting it out of my diet.

My question is: do I have to cut out everything that has natural flavors if it doesn't say that it's gluten-free?

Also, does anyone know if the Hannaford brand of bouillon cubes is gluten-free? I have a bunch in my cabinet and had been using it, but don't know if that's part of why I'm not feeling better.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, you don't have to cut out all natural flavors. The risk is that barley malt could hide there. But it seldom does--since it is a relatively expensive ingredient, it will usually be listed.

A list of companies that has a clear gluten policy. If you don't see "wheat, rye, barley, barley malt, oats" on the labels, its not there, or hidden in "flavors, starches, etc." http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/foodlists/index.htm This makes shopping MUCH easier.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, you don't have to cut out all natural flavors. The risk is that barley malt could hide there. But it seldom does--since it is a relatively expensive ingredient, it will usually be listed.

A list of companies that has a clear gluten policy. If you don't see "wheat, rye, barley, barley malt, oats" on the labels, its not there, or hidden in "flavors, starches, etc." http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/foodlists/index.htm This makes shopping MUCH easier.

Great link Thanks :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×