bethieb

Should I Wait?

Rate this topic

Hi! Newbie here. My doctor had me on an elimination diet for two weeks to "heal my gut" while waiting for results of some food sensitivity testing. I avoided gluten during that time. She is now sending me for a gluten panel and told me to eat bread and pasta, etc. She said that 2 days would be enough. Thoughts? I'd hate to get onto the wrong track because of this, but do want answers. Thanks.

Hi bethieb. Gosh, I am sorry you find yourself in this position. I rail on and on about doctors who do this!! Why don't they test for celiac disease first!!! :ph34r: while you're still eating a full gluten diet. After two weeks gluten free, yes your gut will have healed some, and also the antibodies to the gliadin (protein component of wheat) will have done a bunk because they were no longer needed. And no, I don't think two days will be enough to bring them back and redamage your gut. It is really hard to guestimate how much you have healed during that time and how much gluten you would have to intake for how long to get back to where you were. If you had been totally gluten free, the advice is the equivalent of 3-4 slices of bread per day for at least two months. In your case, I really don't know; but I do think that with only two days you will end up negative for sure and the test will not tell you anything. If you have been suffering for years with drastic symptoms you might still have a chance of a positive test. But it is common to find doctors making these recommendations and then saying, no, you don't have it :o

I really don't know what to tell you, unless you want to put in the two months :(

I had a very positive blood test. Went gluten-free to see if it worked (I know, everything I read said not to, but I couldn't resist). When I went to see the GI I had only been 10 days gluten-free. He ordered an endoscopy and took more blood - said 10 days would not make a difference. Went home and ate wheat for 2 days.