This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gluten Challenge Misery (Newbie Here)

pain*in*my*gut

pain*in*my*gut Apprentice

Hello! I am a newby here....and I need need to vent....

Here is a little history.....I had a bowel resection in 2007 (endometriosis had grown into my bowel, so they removed a small part of it). I then developed complications from the surgery (excessive scar tissue causing bowel obstructions, GI yeast infection, rectal inflamation and bleeding). I was tested for celiac at that time and everything was normal (but on the high end of normal). Then I starting having muscle pain, fatigue, chronic lower back pain and was dx with fibromyalgia. GI symptoms settled down, and for the most part my only complaint was constipation and gas.

About 6 weeks ago I started having this horrible pain in my upper left abdomen, just under my ribcage. Saw my GP, who did a Celiac screen just in case. Low and behold.....POSITIVE! But, only my Deaminated Gliadin antibody was positive (it was 59, normal is 0-19). My TTG IgA was less than 2, which is normal.

I saw my GI doc on 8/1, and he said that my test results for celiac were "inconclusive", and I have to have an endoscopy. I had been gluten-free for 2 weeks, and he said that I had to go back on gluten for a month and then do the biopsy. I was so upset, as eliminating gluten had made my fibro symptoms dramatically better!! Would 2 weeks of being gluten free really effect the biopsy results? I thought it took the gut 6-12 months to heal on a gluten-free diet, I had only been gluten-free for 2 weeks!!