ucemmy22

Suspect Celiac - What To Do?

Rate this topic

Hi! Newbie here!

My question - what type of doc should I go to celiac / gluten intolerance? Or should I just eliminate gluten and reintroduce it to see if symptoms reoccur?

History: As a kid (6?), I had food and asthma issues. My mom doesn't have all the info on doctor, etc - but I had skin prick tests done, and lit up for wheat, eggs, milk, cane sugar and beet sugar. My parents took me there because of behavioral issues. Did a 1-2 year rotational diet.. and that was it. No followup. Asthma was later relieved with help from a naturpoath. No issues now! In fact.. now a marathon runner!

Fast forward - irritability and anger came during the teenage years... put on Prozac. Helped with that, and ended up being on it for 12 years. The irritability and eventually mild depression kept me on it. Came off prozac a couple months ago - really don't think i need it. Feel the same without it

Now 25 years old, am tired all the time. Always thought I was just a "really good sleeper and napper" - but the teenage years are over. Weekends are 12-18 hours of sleep a day. During the week, my husband has to drag me out of bed.. I snooze for an hour before work sometimes.

Doc ruled out thyroid and iron. Had a sleep study - very mild hypopnea (AHI of 6,5-15=mild). Interestingly, I had average to above average time spent in the restorative N3 sleep. A MSLT ruled out narcolepsy (avg sleep onset of 5.4 minutes across my 5 MSLT naps but no REM)

Thus, doc gave me the diagnosis of "idiopathic hypersomnia", a.k.a "we don't know why you are so sleepy". Seems like a cop-out. People aren't this tired for no reason.