Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Accidently Gave My Daughter Gluten!
0

4 posts in this topic

Hey everyone,

I just wanted to write and see if anyone else knew that the Reese's Peanut Butter 'Bells' contain wheat flour? I feel so stupid and upset, the peanut butter cups are my daughter's favorite candy, and have been wheat free for as long as she has been Celiac. I didn't even read the label ingredients because it was just the peanut butter cups shaped like bells, so no big deal right? I looked at the back after she ate three of them and half way down the label, 'wheat flour'. I was stunned. I feel so horrible. Does anyone know if it is just because it was a shaped thing, or has all the Reeses Peanut Butter cups become glutened?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

i'm sorry that happened to you! as far as i know, reeses cups are still fine... i checked a couple of weeks ago when i was buying them and the miniature and full-sized did not list any forbidden ingredients. i love them too. matter of fact, tonight i picked up some Breyer's Reese's Cup ice cream and it's TDF!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One rule of thumb (that I use) is NEVER buy or eat any of the special holiday shapes of any normally gluten-free candy. Reese's PB cups, regular size and most mini ones are gluten-free. They will clearly label for wheat, which is the only gluten grain they would add anyhow.

There is a really nice gluten-free candy list I have. It has been posted here before. I'll look for the post and put a link here. But lists get old and ingredients change, so you'll still need to read the labels to make sure.

I recently glutened myself and my daughter at Outback Steakhouse. It was my husband's birthday and we were celebrating. We had us two adults and our three children, plus an extra 11 year old. I had noticed this new apple cinnamon desert on the gluten-free menu when we were ordering and I thought it would be good to try it. Then when we got done eating (and before I had thoroughly read the dessert menu) the kids started ordering dessert. I was tired and flustered and didn't double check the menu. I went ahead and ordered the apple dessert. When it came my daughter and I start eating it and both of us bite into these crunchy brown bits. I swear it didn't crunch like a gluten-free cookie bit! I immediately stop eating it and tell my daughter to stop eating it. My husband kept telling me to go ahead and eat it since it was on the gluten-free menu. I got the waitress to double check for me, and the manager came back to the table with her to check with me and we looked at the menu. That is when we all notice down at the bottom of that menu item it says to have it made WITHOUT the cinnamon apples and chocolate croutons! So they gave us a new one, which was basically ice cream with candied pecans, caramel sauce and whipped cream. I had eaten one gluten chocolate crouton and my daughter had eaten two. I was so upset with myself. I know better than that. :blink: The only good thing that came out of it is that the waitress will know now when someone is ordering off the gluten-free menu to double the fine print on the menu with them. She had only been there for two weeks...We were her first gluten-free customers!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

here is a link to the list. scroll down a little until you get to celiac3270's post. it contains the list.

http://www.glutenfreeforum.com/index.php?s...10414&hl=Easter

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.