01/01/2021 - It's winter, and that means maple syrup season is just finishing up in the maple growing regions of North America. That also means we get more than a few questions about maple syrup. Specifically, is maple syrup gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease? Yes, pure, natural maple syrup is naturally gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease.
Maple syrup comes in several grades:
Grade A - Golden Color and Delicate Taste
This is the lightest of the new maple syrup grades and highly recommended for drizzling over waffles, pancakes, or ice cream.
This grade of maple syrup is a little more flavorful and works well when cooking and baking.
Grade A - Dark Color and Robust Flavor
This grade of maple syrup is even stronger in flavor and is best used for recipes that require a heavy maple flavor.
Grade A - Very Dark and Strong Flavor
This grade of maple syrup is very strong, and probably best used as a substitute for molasses and for making maple flavored candies.
All grades of maple syrup are naturally gluten-free. The only issue that might arise is any added gluten, which would be highly unlikely for syrup. However, as always, read labels. Avoid anything with unsafe added wheat or gluten ingredients.
Also, make sure you're putting your naturally gluten-free syrup on pancakes, waffles or French toast that is also gluten-free. Here's a list of top gluten-free sandwich breads.