Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I am new to the world of gluten-free eating.  I saw a dietician today and she told me brewer's yeast is gluten. She then sent me to buy these supplements that had , you guessed it, brewer's yeast in them.  The employee called the manufactuer and they said they were labeled gluten-free because the brewer's yeast is sugar.  I have checked several websites, as has my daughter and they differ in whether they are gluten-free or not.  Does anyone know for sure? Thanks for you help!  :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am not aware of a definitive answer. The Canadian Celiac Association has this to say:

A selected strain of (Saccharomyces cerevisiae) yeast. It is a bitter byproduct of the brewing industry and is seldom used in foods. Current methods of testing cannot accurately confirm the amount of residual gluten in brewer's yeast.

They classify it as "not allowed."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...