Jump to content
  • Sign Up
Celiac.com Sponsor:


Celiac.com Sponsor:


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Shamilton

Grain Alcohol Has Gluten?

Recommended Posts

Is there some controversy about whether or not grain alcohol (from a "gluten" grain) has gluten in it? Soy Delicious told me there Soy Icecream is gluten-free (they clean the machine well, so they feel there is a low chance of cross contamination..), but they do use flavorings with grain alcohol. They seemed to think it is not proven there is gluten in the alcohol. My daughter is still reacting to something, so we are going to eliminate the soy icecream (she will be sad!), but I was just wondering. Also, is there any non-dairy, non-gluten icecream that is "safe"?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Celiac.com Sponsor:

Also, is there any non-dairy, non-gluten icecream that is "safe"?

I haven't found one. My son reacted to Rice Dream "ice cream" (which I read somewhere does NOT use a barley enzyme in the processing), and I have been reluctant to try others. If you find one, please let me know!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As far as I know - and I'm pretty certain - any grain-derived alcohol contains gluten. Depending on distillation processes, some companies insist the gluten molecules are "removed," but most doctors, including mine, recommend you still not partake, just to be safe. Grain alcohol is what causes most of the problems with natural or artificial flavors containing gluten. A solution, although it's kind of a pain, is to call the company and ask if their product contains gluten and if they use grain alcohol. Many companies will tell you they don't know for sure or they cannot guarantee if they have many sources of raw materials... this typically means you have to eliminate that food.

The good news is: Imagine Foods Soy Dream ice cream is completely non-dairy (vegan) and gluten-free! and it's good!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You could also get an ice cream maker to make your own out of safe soy milks or sorbets.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hmmm surprising. I was sure i'd read in numerous sources that the distillation breaks down the gluten/gliadin to the point that it's not the same type of molecule at all. I thought this was why any distilled vinegar from any source is safe.

I'm sure a technical explanation wouldn't claim anything is "removed", as much as broken down into components.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, "removed" is the correct term for what happens to the gluten in the distillation process. Basically, distillation is where the more volatile (and lighter) molecules are evaporated off of a liquid. The gluten molecules are too heavy to make it through the many steps of a distillation process.

I know that there are people who still suspect grain alcohol despite this, but I went through too many chemistry labs to suspect it any farther. That is NOT to say that a company may not completely distill their products or that some of the undistilled liquid could get into the distilled liquid in a poor quality process, of course. And there is some alcohol that has ingredients added to it after the distillation process which could contain gluten.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Aha, thx for the explanation. Not sure WHAT i was thinking. I should look something up b4 posting sometimes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Is there some controversy about whether or not grain alcohol (from a "gluten" grain) has gluten in it? Soy Delicious told me there Soy Icecream is gluten-free (they clean the machine well, so they feel there is a low chance of cross contamination..), but they do use flavorings with grain alcohol. They seemed to think it is not proven there is gluten in the alcohol. My daughter is still reacting to something, so we are going to eliminate the soy icecream (she will be sad!), but I was just wondering. Also, is there any non-dairy, non-gluten icecream that is "safe"?

It's very possible that the problem is an allergy to soy in addition to gluten sensitivity. Why don't you try Turtle Mountain's Purely Decadent made with Coconut Milk Ice Cream (http://www.purelydecadent.com/products/purely_decadent_Coconut_Milk_Reviews.html) or Coconut Bliss (www.coconutbliss.com)? Both are very good.

As for the grain alcohol issue, I found the following article online at http://wheat.pw.usda.gov/ggpages/topics/Ce....vs.grains.html

See section entitled "Alcohol derived from wheat"

Celiac Disease and Safe Grains

Donald D. Kasarda, Ph.D.

Research Chemist (Retired)

U. S. Department of Agriculture

Albany, CA

July, 2003

Learning Objective: To review the relationship of wheat, rye, and barley, the harmful grains in celiac disease, to other grains that might suitably be included in the diet of celiac patients.

Celiac disease

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Celiac.com Sponsor:

  • Forum Discussions

    Hi!   Sorry no one had your exact symptoms.  Do you have celiac disease?  Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that attacks the small intestine.  Once destroyed digesting foods can be difficult because enzymes can not be released, et...
    Sorry, but I am not familiar with those tests.  They are not standard for celiac disease testing which does require you to be on a full gluten diet months before a blood draw or weeks before an endoscopy.   Your symptoms could be celiac di...
    Did you have any positives on the celiac blood tests?  Small intestinal damage can be spotty since it is larger than the size of a tennis court!   If you went on an elimination diet, you probably avoided foods that you had intolerances t...
×
×
  • Create New...