Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


Rate this topic

Recommended Posts


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


All distilled alcohol is gluten free regardless of the source.  Be careful of any additives or mixers.  Some celiacs complain of symptom.  So, it is up to you.  Read this article to find brands that are derived from corn, etc:
 

https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/are-whiskeys-gluten-free#why-some-experience-symptoms

Me?   I am a nervous Nelly.  I choose alcohol like vodka sourced from potato vodka.  I guess it is hard for me mentally to get over anything that contains wheat, barley or rye, especially where there are so many other choices.  Sometimes, piece of mind is priceless.  This works for me.   Last endoscopy — healed!  
 

Now, having worked in a bar decades ago, I do know that even today, busy bars still rely on the old wash and dunk for their glassware. So, when busy, I ask for drink to be put into a to-go cup.  Not classy, but safe.  


Non-functioning Gall bladder Removal Surgery 2005

Diagnosed via Blood Test and Endoscopy: March 2013

Hashimoto's Thyroiditis -- Stable 2014

Anemia -- Resolved

Fractures (vertebrae): June 2013

Osteopenia/osteoporosis -- June 2013

Allergies and Food Intolerances

Diabetes -- January 2014

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

In college one of my roommates adored Jack Daniels. I did occasionally drink it back then. I don't recall getting symptoms from it. When I no longer lived with her I was off whiskey entirely. Years later and before diagnosis I found  I just can't drink whiskey. Not from a gi issue gluten issue to my knowledge. I just can't do whiskey or gin.  I don't feel I enjoy it and I feel more hangover symptoms in morning than if I drink another alcohol. I just  explain it as  I prefer other spirits.

I was a fan of tequila, vodka, and white wine prior to diagnosis. After my gluten challenge I could not drink alcohol too inflammatory to my body for 2- 2 1/2 years. 

I have tried plain Vodka from potato in past. Last time I had a drink with Vodka it was a brand sourced from grapes  (Bombora). I have tried plain tequila agave sourced no mixers. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

3 3


Join eNewsletter


  • Celiac.com Sponsors (A19):


  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      91,757
    • Most Online
      6,255

    Newest Member
    Anaalyse
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      115,423
    • Total Posts
      968,573

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):


  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):


  • Blog Entries