Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Are Ore-Ida tator tots (seasoned, shredded potatoes) gluten-free. I didn't see anything on the packaging that would seem suspicious, and my darling hubby just made me some for dinner and they smell grreat- So I REALLY want to eat some! Anyone know?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tater tots are gluten free. They label their packages clearly with wheat, soy, etc. You should try their fast food fries. That is all we buy now. They are fantastic. Just like McDonalds without the worry about cross contamination.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I second the Fast Food Fries -- they were pretty darn good -- the only bad thing is they take a little while in th oven, but it is a small sacrifice for good home cooked fries.

Armetta, I amn concerned that the Tots are not on Ore Ida's gluten free list...I wonder what gives. The ingredients seem ok.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Armetta-Ore-Ida is not one of the companies that has obvious glutens on their labels. They put out a gluten free list, which can be recieved by e-mail and snail mail. They have a list online, but it is not nearly as long as the one that they will e-mail out. There are several of their products that "seem" to be gluten free by reading the labels, but in fact they do not call them safe.

I had bought their frozen mashed potatoes once, read the bag and thought "wow looks great, nothing offensive on the label" ate them and got terribly sick. Gave them a call to check, and sure enough they were not safe.......sooo moral to the story is follow their gluten free list.

-Jessica :rolleyes:

here is the most recent list that I have from them (e-mail)

April 24, 2006

Dear Jessica,

Thank you for your interest in Heinz Products. We certainly understand how

difficult it can be to find foods that meet the requirements of a restricted

diet.

As you requested, the following is a listing of all of our products that do NOT

have gluten containing ingredients. If the product you asked about is not on

this list, then it does have gluten containing ingredients.

HEINZ PRODUCTS:

Heinz Ketchup

One Carb Ketchup

No Sodium Added Ketchup

Hot & Spicy Kick'rs

NOTE: Heinz ORGANIC Ketchup DOES have gluten containing ingredients

Lea & Perrins Products-- All Varieties

Jack Daniel's EZ Marinader -- Teriyaki Variety

Jack Daniel's EZ Marinader -- Garlic & Herb Variety

Distilled White Vinegar

Red Wine Vinegar

Apple Cider Vinegar

NOTE: Heinz Apple Cider FLAVORED Vinegar DOES have gluten containing

ingredients

AUNT MILLIE'S PASTA SAUCES

All Aunt Millie's Pasta Sauces

CLASSICO PASTA SAUCES:

All Classico Pasta Sauces

TGI FRIDAY'S SALSA:

Both Mild and Medium Salsa in 16-ounce jar

DELIMEX PRODUCTS:

UPC CODE: PRODUCT NAME:

1769600012 Taquitos, 36 ct. Delimex Chicken

1769600018 Tamales, 12 ct. Delimex Beef

1769600019 Tamales, 12 ct. Delimex Chicken & Cheese

1769600020 Taquitos, 24 ct. Smart & Final Beef

1769600024 Tamales, 6 ct. Delimex Beef

1769600028 Taquitos, 25 ct. Delimex Beef

1769600029 Taquitos, 25 ct. Delimex Chicken

1769600048 Taquitos, 36 ct. Delimex Beef

1769600095 Taquitos, 12 ct. Delimex Beef

1769600096 Taquitos, 12 ct. Delimex Chicken

1769600133 Taquitos, 22 ct. Schwan's Beef w/ Salsa

1769600155 Tamales, 15 ct. Costco Beef

1769600159 Tamales, 20 ct. Delimex Beef, Costco

1769600180 Taquitos, 60 ct. Delimex Beef

1769600186 Taquitos, 60 ct. Sam's Club Beef

1769600206 Tamales, 2 ct. Trader Joe's Beef

1769600207 Tamales, 2 ct. Trader Joe's Chicken & Cheese

1769600214 Taquitos, 25 ct. Delimex 3-Cheese

1769600222 Tamales, 6 ct. Schwan's Beef

1769600481 Taquitos, 36 ct. Delimex Beef (Mexico Import)

1769600500 Taquitos, Delimex Beef / Deli-Pak

1769600505 Taquitos, Mini, 40 ct. Beef, Snacker Tray w/ salsa

1769600554 Tamales, Cheese Deli Bulk Pack

1769600555 Tamales, Chicken Deli Bulk Pack

1769600556 Tamales, Beef Deli Bulk Pack

1769600565 Tamales, 20 ct.Beef, Sams Club

1769600684 Taquitos, 66 ct. Costco Beef

1769600685 Taquitos, 66 ct. Costco Chicken

1769601208 Tamales, 2 ct. Trader Joe's Cheese & Green Chiles

ORE-IDA PRODUCTS:

UPC CODE: PRODUCT NAME:

13120XXXXX- ALL VARIETIES of Ore-Ida® Tater Tots®

1312000080 Ore-Ida Golden Patties® (9 ct.)

1312000198 Ore-Ida® Snackin' Fries T (10.5 oz.)

1312000258 Ore-Ida® Golden Fries® (32 oz.)

1312000278 Ore-Ida® Golden Fries® (5 lb.)

1312000286 Ore-Ida® Golden Crinkles® (32 oz.)

1312000291 Ore-Ida® Golden Crinkles® (5 lb.)

1312000296 Ore-Ida® Pixie Crinkles (26 oz.)

1312000377 Ore-Ida® Cottage Fries (32 oz.)

1312000392 Ore-Ida® Southern Style Hash Browns (32 oz.)

1312001417 Ore-Ida Extra Crispy Fast Food Fries (26 oz.)

1312000469 Ore-Ida® Potatoes O'Brien (28 oz.)

1312000647 Ore-Ida® French Fries (8 lb.)

1312000654 Ore-Ida® Country Style Hashbrowns (6 lb.)

1312000801 Ore-Ida® Shoestrings® (5 lb)

1312000809 Ore-Ida® Crunch Time Classics Straight Cut (24 oz.)

1312000810 Ore-Ida® Crunch Time Classics Crinkle Cut (24 oz.)

1312000828 Ore-Ida® Shoestrings® (28 oz.)

1312000829 Ore-Ida® Shoestrings® (40 oz.)

1312000833 Ore-Ida® Country Style Hashbrowns (30 oz.)

1312000845 Ore-Ida® Deep Fries Crinkle Cuts (24 oz.)

1312000854 Ore-Ida® Hash Browns (5 lb.)

1312000862 Ore-Ida® Country Style Hashbrowns (6 lb.)

1312001012 Ore-Ida® Potato Wedges with Skins (24 oz.)

1312001190 Ore-Ida® Steak Fries (3.75 lb.)

1312008564 Ore-Ida® Golden Crinkles® (8 lb.)

1312008565 Ore-Ida® Golden Fries® (8 lb.)

1312008572 Ore-Ida® Golden Crinkles® (8 lb.)

Again, we appreciate you taking the time to contact us. If you need further

information, feel free to call us at this toll-free number (1-800-255-5750).

Our offices are open Monday through Friday from 8:30 AM until 6:00 PM, Eastern

Time.

Heinz Consumer Resource Center

Heinzconsumeraffairs@us.hjheinz.com

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Armetta-Ore-Ida is not one of the companies that has obvious glutens on their labels. They put out a gluten free list, which can be recieved by e-mail and snail mail. They have a list online, but it is not nearly as long as the one that they will e-mail out. There are several of their products that "seem" to be gluten free by reading the labels, but in fact they do not call them safe.

I had bought their frozen mashed potatoes once, read the bag and thought "wow looks great, nothing offensive on the label" ate them and got terribly sick. Gave them a call to check, and sure enough they were not safe.......sooo moral to the story is follow their gluten free list.

-Jessica :rolleyes:

here is the most recent list that I have from them (e-mail)

I screwed up again. Sorry about that. I have never tried the mashed potatoes. I only have bought a few of their items, like the tator tots (which are listed) and a few other on their list. But, I noticed when I bought the fast food fries that it listed an allergen section which I assumed meant they were complying with the new labeling laws. Soy was listed as an allergen on the fast food fries. And yes, I am allergic to say, but I REALLY limit my intake, so I don't wheeze and have to use my nebulizer. Thank you for posting that, as I will be very careful if I want to try something else of theirs.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...