This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Going Out On Dates And Eating Gout With Friends

basketballstar15

basketballstar15 Newbie

Hi Im Abigail and I am 13 years old. I have been eating gluten free since January 2007! I was diagnosed because I am super short. I have grown an inch in eight weeks and am totally happy! but, i still am only 4'6. I hope i grow a lot over summer! Well, i'll get to the point. My first experience eating out at a restaurant was a week after i started the diet. It was a mess! I ate at Runza. I asked if I could have a hamburger with no bun. (after making sure the actual hamburger was ok.) at least they got that right! then i asked what brand of ketchup they had. they told me it was Heinz. I was so happy because Heinz is gluten-free. They after I put a ton of ketchup in my mouth the waitress came to my table and told me that it wasnt Heinz. My friend and I freaked out! Now i wonder what to do when i go out on dates with my boyfriend. What do I do?? Does anyone have any funny experiences like mine?? Please reply.

~Abigail B)

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Guhlia Rising Star

Maybe your mom (or you) could put together a picnic lunch and the two of you could eat on a blanket. He might like this because it would save him money and he wouldn't have to do anything to prepare for it. Or, you could try to choose dates that don't involve food like movies, mini golf, bowling, etc. Cheeseburger in Paradise has a gluten free menu as well as a few other places (Outback Steakhouse, Bonefish Grill, Carrabas...)

Kassie Apprentice