Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

mm&j

New Celiac And Have Questions

I was just diagnosed with Celiac after 8 months of many doctors. Finally, after I asked for my Vitamin D level to be checked, I got a diagnoses of Celiac disease when my D level was at 13. I had no digestive/intestinal symptoms, just severe fatique, terrible bone pain and weakness were the main symptoms. I'm happy to go gluten-free as I thought the worst and figured that I must have something extremely serious to feel so awful. I just was wondering how long it might be before feeling some kind of physical improvement. Thanks so much to anyone who responds. This is my first time on a message board.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Welcome. I started to feel better immediately(brain fog and depression) but it was around 6 months that I hit a point where I felt my first significant level of overall healing. Fatigue has taken longer, maybe around 8 months it got much better. GI symptoms started to clear up immediately but I still have problems with dairy.

Me: GLUTEN-FREE 7/06, multiple food allergies, T2 DIABETES DX 8/08, LADA-Latent Autoimmune Diabetes in Adults, Who knew food allergies could trigger an autoimmune attack on the pancreas?! 1/11 Re-DX T1 DM, pos. DQ2 Celiac gene test 9/11

Son: ADHD '06,

neg. CELIAC PANEL 5/07

ALLERGY: "positive" blood and skin tests to wheat, which triggers his eczema '08

ENTEROLAB testing: elevated Fecal Anti-tissue Transglutaminase IgA Dec. '08

Gluten-free-Feb. '09

other food allergies

Welcome. I started to feel better immediately(brain fog and depression) but it was around 6 months that I hit a point where I felt my first significant level of overall healing. Fatigue has taken longer, maybe around 8 months it got much better. GI symptoms started to clear up immediately but I still have problems with dairy.