Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

cmcminnesotan

General Mills Cereal

Recommended Posts

A friend told me that Dora the Explorer cereal by General Mills is gluten free. Has anyone else heard this?

Thanks,

Carol


Carol - Mom to 7 kids

My daughter Caroline "Carly" 9yrs

blood test + April 06

biopsy + June 06

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Yes, also gluten free by General Mills is Trix, Mickey Mouse Clubhouse and Little Einsteins. We like the Dora stars around here as a great toddler snack.


Mom to 3 girls

DD1-diagnosed by allergist 10/2006

DD4 & DD9-diagnosed by Mom 01/2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My 9 and 11 year olds eat Dora cereal as a snack. Their friends like it, too. It is peanut free for sure. I don't know about tree nuts.


Karen

gluten free 4/06

casein free 7/06

DQ1, DQ8

Daughter (11) gluten free 5/06, casein free 6/06

Daughter (9) gluten free 3/06, casein free 7/06, soy free, trying peanut free

vegetarian

gluten lite on and off since 1999

All dx'ed by Enterolab

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just to let everyone know the cereal is all processed on the same equipment that other cereal that contains wheat is. One of my friends(whos is a celiac) got really sick from the Mickey Mouse Clubhouse cereal. I have had the cereal and I didnt get sick but I just thought everyone should know!


Maggie

--Diabetes for 12 years

--Celiac for 3 years

--Hypothryodism for 2 years

--Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome for 4 months

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I do know that if General Mills does not label the cereal with the "contains wheat" allergen statement and it is made on the same equipment that makes wheat products, the cleaning procedure is about ten times more rigerous than if they are changing between two wheat cereals. Not to say that CC can't happen, but it's is something GM watches out for.


Gluten-Free since September 15, 2005.

Peanut-Free since July 2006.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites