This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Looking For Direction After A Negative Test

bcroswell

bcroswell Newbie

I looking for some possible direction after getting back a response from my doctor that my Celiac screen was negative.

My background is as follows:

My sister was just recently diagnosed as having Celiac and mentioned I should get screened due to the fact that supposedly chances are 1-20 of having it if a parent or sibling has it.

At that point started reading up on the symptoms and issues. A lot of the symptoms sounded very familiar to what I have experience for a very long time. All of the GI problems intestinal pain, bad gas, and diarrhea. Also I routinely get rashes, most commonly on my legs, that are very itchy raised hive like rashes. These rashes have no apparent cause and can last for a very long time. My most recent one is going on 4-5 months without going away. I also have hypo-thryoidism and am taking synthroid for that.

The doctor did what called a "Celiac Profile".

The results are as follows:

t-Transglutaminase IgA AB 5.6 Reference Range <20.0

Endomysial Abs, S Negative

Gliadian Ab

Gliadian IgG 1.7

Gliadian IgA <1.0

Reticulin Abs Negative

I can't tell from that if he did the gene test, but it appears not. I am wondering if it makes sense to press for that and/or the endoscope/biopsy.

And help would be greatly appreciated.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

confused Community Regular