• Join Our Community!

Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Matt S

Celiac With A Pregnant Non Celiac Wife

Rate this topic

Hello all,

I was diagnosed the summer I graduated high school. It's been eight years now and things are fairly under control with the usual bumps along the way. My wife (no gluten allergy), who I met in high school and was with me throughout the diagnosis, is now pregnant with our first child.

Has anyone gone through this? I know there's a chance that the baby could also have the condition. The majority of me wants the baby to have the "normal" diet and lifestyle while another small part of me wouldnt mind another gluten free person in the family. We've informed our doctor and the baby will be tested right after birth. I hope there are no complications. It makes me nervous.

How hard is it to raise a baby with the condition? Does anyone know of specific gluten-free baby foods? Being diagnosed at 17 did not really give me the chance to grow up with the lifestyle so it was certainly a big change.

We dont know if the baby will have it but i'd like to be ready :)

Thanks for the help!

Matt

Hi Matt- Congratulations on your first! You both must be so excited.