• Join Our Community!

Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Rate this topic

Hi!

I have been eating, sleeping, and dreaming about the Celiac diagnosis since we found out last week.

My 7-year-old is newly diagnosed by blood tests and endoscopy. He was not failure to thrive or any obvious symptoms as an infant or toddler. He began having left upper quadrant pain last June and the Pediatrician treated him with Prevacid for 3 months. Why does that work for Celics? After weaning him off the Prevacid, the pain continued and we were referred to Peds GI. The endoscopy and blood tests were enough evidence to make the solid Celiac diagnosis. We started the diet this weekend. I am a Registered Nurse (not in Pediatrics), and I remember from my Peds rotations that when you present diet changes, they should always be presented to the child as a "positive change." Is this how all of you did it? My son seems fine with the changes right now. I try not to show him that I am truly overwhelmed.

I also need guidance on whether to test my 4-year-old, who is completely asymptomatic and growing well. The Peds Gastroenterologist said "it is controversial in my field." She did not really expand more than that. What should we do? We will soon be seeing the nutritionist but I could use some tips on shopping and cooking as well. This is a wonderful site for newly diagnosed individuals. Sorry for the long post.

Thanks

Hi Motherof2boys. You have found a wonderful resource with this website.

Here is a list of companies that do not hide the gluten in their labels . . . so if you don't see wheat, rye, barley, or oats listed, you do not have to worry about that generic term "natural flavoring"

http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/foodlists/in...donothidegluten

Our pedGI recommended all siblings be (blood) tested even if there are no symptoms. It is something that can start at any time so you may just want to screen every two or three years or if GI symptoms start up.