This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Immune System Down For Life?

Guest Happynwgal2

Guest Happynwgal2

I have been gluten free since Nov. 2006, and am finally feeling better than I ever have, yet I dp not feel that my health is good yet. The good thing is that I have no more stomach problems and very few instances of being glutened because I am only into pleasing myself when it comes to food these days, which means saying NO, BUT THANKS anytime I am not sure what I am about to eat.

My question: since I have been eating gluten for 50+ years, my immune system has taken quite a beating. If there is flu around, I get it. If somebody has a cold, I get it, or just barely manage to stave it off with AirBorne and vitamin C. I often wonder if I am so susceptible to aches, pain and colds because of the damage that gluten has done to my immune system for so many decades.

Do any of you know anything about this? I am frustrated because even though I feel good as far as not being glutened very often any more, I still struggle with other health problems. Yet I feel that I am fairly healthy, and am under good care by a chiropractor for my back problems. Life is good, but will it get better? Or am I now stuck with a bad immune system for the rest of my life? (I am 55)

Eva <_<

PS I just changed my health insurance at work from Kaiser to Blue Cross/Blue Shield. I feel lost in regard to finding new doctors in the Portland, Oregon area. Do anybody know of a good doctor here that can help me understand my immune system post Celiac diagnoses?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

shayesmom Rookie