This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Inconclusive Tests

glutenewbie

glutenewbie Newbie

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this Celiac forum. I've been having major symptoms for the past 6 mos. But I've struggled with mood disorders and joint pains for years that could be related. I started off having diabetic like symptoms. I was really lightheaded and thirsty all the time. I had a glucose tolerance test and found I had kind of high blood sugar, but not diabetic. So I started cutting back on sugars, and found that that was my problem, I was sugar intolerant. But even after cutting out all refined and cane sugars (and eating minimal fruit) I was still having problems. I started having digestive difficulties (diarrhea, etc.) a couple months ago. I've read that gluten intolerance can lead to other food intolerances. (I also have problems with dairy and eggs.)

My GP finally did a blood test for me for Celiac in June. It came back positive. Then I was referred to a GI doctor who scheduled me for an endoscopy and biopsy. I tried to load up on gluten 2 weeks before the test, but had been cutting back on it before then. My biopsy came back negative. So the docs can't confirm that I have Celiac. But I know that I was feeling a lot worse when I had to load up on gluten. The tingling and weakness started coming back in my right foot again, I felt like I had the flu since I was so weak.

So anyway, I was just wondering if it's still possible that I could have Celiac even though my biopsy was negative? Any advice would be helpful!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

GlutenWrangler Contributor