Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

wolfie

Kinnikinnick Plain Bagels

I have been eating these bagels for 2+ years. Back in the winter of 2007, they became hard to find. I found out that they were having production issues and opening a new plant. 3-4 months later I found the bagels again and now they taste different and it is not a good different. I know they are the "new" ones b/c there is a sticker over the old nutrition info on the bag. Not only are they higher in calorie, they really don't taste good. Anyone else have this issue? I won't continue to buy these at $5/pack for 4 bagels if this is a permanent thing. I guess I will have to try to make bagels out of the Pamela's bread mix. I have been meaning to do this for a while anyway.

Kim

"Life isn't about how to survive the storm

but how to dance in the rain."

Positive bloodwork 1/9/06

gluten-free since 1/12/06

Very positive dietary response

DS (12 years old)

Biopsy 7/7/06 ~ Diagnosed Celiac 7/12/2006

gluten-free since 7/15/2006

DD (almost 6)

HLA-DQ2 positive

Celiac Bloodwork negative 2 different times

Still eating gluten for now.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

I tried those bagels last year before I knew what I was reacting to (tapioca flour/starch) but I did not care for them, the taste.

I made my own bagels last week from the book The Gluten-Free Kitchen by Roben Ryberg. They were easy to make and tasted good/okay. I am hoping they taste even better the next time I make them, thinking about trying a flavor instead of just plain.

Rebecca

Partial Gluten Free March 2007

Completely Gluten Free February 2008

Tapioca Starch/Flour Free April 2008

No MSG July 2008

Cut out Nitrates//Nitrites January 2009

Problems with Tomatoes and Potatoes -- Cut out Nightshades Aug '09