This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Oh, I'm New To This.

aimeez

aimeez Newbie

I went to my doctor this morning thinking the results of my blood test for a full thyroid workup were going to reveal some lifelong joy of popping t3 supplement pills. My doctor, having a gluten intolerance herself, tested me for it as well. She said, "blahblahblah... good news and bad news. Your thyroid looks great, but you have a gluten allergy."

First of all, I've been rather lost as to whether there is a difference between a gluten allergy or an intolerance. Nothing I've read seems to be definitive. I know allergy and intolerance are different, but when it comes to gluten it seems it doesn't make much of a difference... again I say, based on what I've been able to find on the net. (I will use the word interchangeably throughout so if someone can correct me, please do. :) )

Additionally, I was completely unprepared for news like that. I was getting used to the idea of popping pills for the rest of my life, but now I cannot figure out which is worse. A lifetime of pill popping or a diet I have to rearrange my life around. I've read so much in the last 12 hours about gluten-free diets, recipes, and lives. I apologize if I'm rambling, but how the heck do I cope with this? I've read through a lot of the forum posts and topics and I'm completely at a loss.