Gee1218

Two Blood Tests Were Positive

Rate this topic

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to this so I would be so appreciative of any help any of you can give me. My issue began in February 09. I started getting mild indigestion and was burping a lot after meals which is very rare for me. I took some tums and shrugged it off. This eventually starting turning to stomach pain, almost as if I did 1000 sit-ups or something. I decided to go see a GI Dr. He sent me for an abdominal ultrasound - which was clear and scheduled me for an upper endescopy. My upper endescopy showed "mild inflammation and gastritis" very generic diagnosis. He prescribed Nexium and sent me on my way. I found that the Nexium just gave me stomach pains so he switched me to another brand, which did the same thing. I tend to read a lot of the internet and sometimes that can be a bad thing. I was convinced that there was something wrong with my pancreas, such as pancreatic cancer. I seemed to have all the symptoms, except weight loss. Stomach pain, back pain...I convinced my Dr to send me for an abdominal CAT scan with contrast, which is supposed to be the best diagnostic test for the pancreas. After fighting tooth and nail with my Insurance company, I finally went and had it done back in March. Thankfully, that was clear. I continued on my PPI medicine with the same symptoms. I tried to avoid spicy foods, coffee, per the Dr's suggestion.

In April, I was awoken with severe lower abdominal cramping. My husband took me to the ER and they performed another CAT scan with contrast and abdominal and pelvic ultrasound. All was normal again. They sent me home with Tylenol with Codien and some anit-biotics because my urinalysis showed a mild urinary infection. I continued to have lower abdominal pains on and off for a few weeks. Luckily those pains went away.