SuzyQ2

My First Results - Please Review

Rate this topic

Hi there

Here are my first blood test results:

Anti Gliadin IgA <5U/ml (0-19)

Anti Gliadin IgG <5U/ml (0-19)

Anti Tissue Transglutaminase IgA 66 U/ml (0-11)

Endomysial IgA (Screen 1:10): Negative

Supplementary Anti Tissue Transglutaminase assay: Negative

What does all this mean?

I have since had an Upper Endoscopy with showed normal results.

I'm confused as I have all the symptoms of celiac disease but no scientific evidence I guess?

Can someone provide any advice.

Thank you in advance.

Hi Suzy,

I am not diagnosed but have an appointment in 2 weeks with a GI doc.

These test results are so confusing aren't they? I found a web site that goes over lab results and I will include the link.

I work in healthcare and I do know that each facility has their own lab ranges. That's why you'll see a range with each result. The website that I have found goes over what each of those tests are looking for or measureing. Generally speaking, if your labs fall out of range then it means something. There's a table that tells you the likelihood of what your test results mean.

Hope this helps.

http://www.labtestsonline.org/understandin...ons/celiac.html

Hi, the test most widely used nowadays is the tissue transglutaminase IgA test.

Yours is quite positive.

I think they missed your celiac when they did the bopsiy, because they took not enough samples. latest recommendation now is at least 12-15 samples. that is because celiac is usually patchy.

In the old days, they only would recognize total villous atrophy, all the villi had to be gone everywhere, that is why they did not take so many samples, and in the very early days they only took one sample.

I have seen postings from a few people who got negative endoscopies , who had the pill cam, which showed villi blunting or patchy celiac or celiac at the far end of the small intestine. In a normal endoscopy they only go to the beginning of the small intestine.