This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Opinions Needed- What Did You Feel Like After You Ate Gluten?

LoraW76

LoraW76 Rookie

I am new to celiac disease, as I was just diagnosed 2 weeks ago. Today being Thanksgiving, I ate gluten-free as I have been doing since I found out I had celiac, except I scooped the pumpkin pie filling out of the pie crust and ate that. Now I have spent considerable time in the bathroom having bowel movements. Was it the pie filling that had some crust in it that did this to me?

I was wondering, being a newbie and all, what happens when you eat gluten, either by accident or otherwise.

Thanks! :(

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

katie may Newbie

LoraW76 -

I'm sorry you've had to enter the gluten-free world but it's not so terrible when you know what to do to take care of yourself. Definitely do some online research so you'll know what to look out for and maybe learn some tips for how to deal with Celiac. One of the basic laws of eating gluten-free is NEVER NEVER NEVER eat anything that has touched gluten. This means the pie was a no go. You can apply the same concept to hamburgers; taking it off the bun just doesn't cut it. Also, I'm not sure about the pie's filling - were you? Now that you're gluten-free, you'll need to read all ingredients. You can look online to find the ingredients that contain gluten, and plenty of people post foods they have problems with.